Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    connetion help

    This is a discussion on connetion help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just got sky broadband and cannot connect to the internet through internet explorer.The router is fine and is ...

    1. #1
      smiles181's Avatar
      smiles181 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      connetion help

      I have just got sky broadband and cannot connect to the internet through internet explorer.The router is fine and is connected to the net and i can connect throught limewire but when trying to use internet explorer i cannot connect,any ideas.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connetion help

      Probably a good idea to mention which operating system and whether you are trying to connect wirelessly and with what adapter.

    4. #3
      smiles181's Avatar
      smiles181 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connetion help

      i am using windows xp and trying to connect through my main computer.Don't wanna try setting up the laptop til it work with my main comp.

      I also installed the free mcafee firewall software.

    5. #4
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connetion help

      From your reply, sounds like you are not using wireless.

      I think I would turn off McAfee until you get a normal connection working.

    6. #5
      smiles181's Avatar
      smiles181 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connetion help

      ok it jsut annoying cause i can download but trying to surf the net or connecting to msn just doesn't work.Does the router have a firewall that could be stopping it. i might get rid of mcafee and put avg and commodo back on.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: connetion help

      uninstall the Privacy Service part of McAfee, causes all sorts of bother and might help u out....there'd be nothing in the router stopping it....

      do you have proxy settings in use? these will also stop it working...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Gold+2007's Avatar
      Gold+2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connetion help

      Hi,

      I had the same prob, and once i uninstalled the antivirus and reinstalled it again (nod32) ie7 worked again (i run vista). Check also the conn settings of internet options in ie, click on lan and then autom obtain.........

      Hope it helps.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: connetion help

      it should NOT be on auto find settings (under LAN settings in Internet Options>Connections) - this can also screw it up...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION