Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Sky and BT

    This is a discussion on Sky and BT within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm not one to moan, but here's what's happened to me so far Got migrated on the 20th August, and ...

    1. #1
      bigviv's Avatar
      bigviv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Sky and BT

      I'm not one to moan, but here's what's happened to me so far

      Got migrated on the 20th August, and the phone line stopped working, but the internet service was

      raised a fault with BT which took 7 days to fix

      once the phone line was fixed, my internet stopped working

      contacted customer support, walked through the standard script despite the fact nothing had changed on my setup and eventually got a ticket number with a promise that tier 3 would call me back

      no call back, called again the next day, no call back

      called back again, was told 5 working days

      it's now been 2 weeks, with no internet service, it's quite obviously a problem at my exchange as the phone line was fixed at the same time the internet stopped working

      why do we need to go through all this when i know what the problem is?!

      luckily i have web n walk with t-mobile which i can connect with to send emails and minor surfing, but what a shambles

      is there anything i can do to speed up the process of getting BT to look at the exchange or get it fixed at least?!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      It looks like BT have 'turned off' your broadband, this seems to be the procedure when a major line fault is fixed. There have been a few reports of this on the forum. You can be sure, if you had BT broadband it would be working. They don't seem to give a damn what they do when other ISPs are concerned. There are a couple of Sky techs who post, maybe they can advise you what to do for the best. Hopefully you can get a quick solution.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      get tier 1 to run a tone test. if this fails then they should move the ticket to tier 2 to log to BT - should then be fixed in 24hrs tops.....should NOT go to tier 3
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      bigviv's Avatar
      bigviv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      thanks for all that

      i just called them for a rant, as it has been about a week without the internet, and tried to get them to let BT know, but he wasn't having any of it, and said that Tier 3 will contact me in 5 days

      this will make it about 13/14 days without the net, crazy!

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      ok, call them and say that although u have a ticket open can they please go through it again as im 100% certain if they would actually think for themselves and run a tone test it'd show the issue and they could get it logged.....

      trust me, tier 3 should have nothing to do with this unless its actually an exchange fault with the hardware (which i doubt very much). If needed demand to speak to a manager and say can they just run the tone test....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      the problem is, that in cases such as this, BT should be automatically connecting the broadband back to the line. BT, however, say that as they arent the Broadband providers, its not their responsibility.

      But if you look at the problem it is their responsibility. They disconnected the broadband to fix the telephone, so it is them that has caused your broadband outage.

      The most Sky can do is perform a 'Cease and Reprovide' which is effectively cancelling your bb subscription and ordering a new one. This is a sort of long way round, as BT would then be forced to reconnect the broadband.

    8. #7
      bigviv's Avatar
      bigviv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      one thing i don't wish to do is go the long route, as my kids will need the internet very soon

      i had the tone test run, but the guy i spoke to (in the Philippines) didn't know how to resolve so i got the standard 5 day talk again

      if it takes the full 5 days, then i'll really get it in my ear from my kids!

      i can't believe that such a simple thing has to go though all this bull when all it needs is a BT call out

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      did the tone fail (did u hear a lot of beeps)? if not, the case soulda been moved to tier 2 then and there to be logged to BT and would prob be fixed by this afternoon...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      bigviv's Avatar
      bigviv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      thanks to all, enjoying this forum!

      i called up at about 7:58 this morning, and got through to tier 3, who ran a tone test, no beeps, so have got BT on the case

      touchwood it will be sorted by the time i get home

      i guess the best time to call is just before 8am if you want to speak to tier 3


    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      yeah but it SO shouldn't have got to that point - glad its getting done tho. Should find it done by this evening/2moro
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION