Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Sky and BT

    This is a discussion on Sky and BT within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I had big problems with BT when i first got my BB to cut along story short 7 calls to ...

    1. #11
      rubric's Avatar
      rubric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      I had big problems with BT when i first got my BB to cut along story short 7 calls to BT 4 missed call backs and a lie to me that an enginer had visited the exchange and i got my mate who was a BT engineer to go to the exchange to find the wires were in the wrong way round!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      bigviv's Avatar
      bigviv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      i agree, it should never have got to tier 3, but however much i tried to explain to the guy on tier 1, he wouldn't have any of it - the guy on tier 3 did what tier 1 did, then opened a ticket with BT, not sure why tier 1 can't do this if the tone test fails

      i wouldn't mind if i had a connection but it was slow, but having no connection is a complete shambles

      it's a shame we have to rely on BT to fix these problems, but it really is up to Sky to manage their suppliers

      sent a quick email to james murdoch's address, and got a nice reply from someone saying it's fixed

      guess i'll find out when i get home

    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      tier 1 don't have access to BT Wholesale to log faults - but the initial system they use should ask them to run a tone test and if this fails then pass to tier 2 to be logged.....they obviously went down a different route of questioning, or you explained the issue differently to what was needed to get that conclusion
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      well, I'll let you in on a little secret.

      The knowledge system Sky uses to manage the call flows has changed recently, and is full of incorrect information. one example of wrong information is that if you have an Offnet (connect) customer, you are to perform a Swish Test, which is only for Onnet customers.

      It might be that this was raised incorrectly due to a mistake in the implementation of the new system, and thats why its taken a while to resolve.

      But i stand by my original comment, BT disconnected the Broadband so they should have connected it up automatically. There should be no involvement from the ISP as it was out of their control

    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      ^ exactly, but BT are annoying like that....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #16
      bigviv's Avatar
      bigviv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      well, just got home, did the usual stuff with the router (disconnect for a few mins) and still no connection

      hopefully BT will pull their fingers out and get it sorted tomorrow

      i explained the problem exactly as i have here, maybe i just got a new guy in tier 1 who doesn't have the experience or something

      maybe the training at sky needs to improve

      oh and i'm on the max package

    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      its nothing to do with what u say to the guys at tier 1 - they have no say in what happens. it all depends on how they decide to troubleshoot it. It should've been: -

      You: Hi, I had a problem with my BT line which has now been fixed but my BB isn't working
      Sky: OK, do you have an internet light on?
      You: (Prob) No...
      Sky: OK, I'm going to run a tone test (after some probably annoying basic troubleshooting)
      Test fails...
      Sky: OK, this will get logged to BT and we'll be back in touch when BT have let us know it's fixed. If they mention(ed) tier 3 at any point then they're completely wrong (which might be down to a troubleshooting-flow issue)

      It should then get moved to tier 2 to be logged to BT, and they should've been the ones that call you back to confirm connection is working again, but more often than not connection is back before you get the call...

      anything other than that is wrong and hopefully tier 3 will report this as a fault in the troubleshooting system to get resolved
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #18
      bigviv's Avatar
      bigviv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      I agree that this was a waste of time for tier 3, but the root cause of all of this is sky managing their suppliers, as in bt. Another thing that sky should do is train their tier 1 so that if a tone test fails, and the customer is saying that the problem is with bt and the exchange, then simply get bt on the case

      i havent had a full service since migration several weeks ago, which is shocking

    10. #19
      bigviv's Avatar
      bigviv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      well, next in the saga, i just rang up to get a status, and the latest update is that BT may look at it tomorrow

      what a farce

      i envy those who have a slow connection, at least you have internet access!!

      wish i had a consumer website type email address, probably would get fixed in a jiffy, whereas someone who has been with Sky since the beginning, doesn't even get a look in

      without internet since 26/27th August....!

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky and BT

      wouldnt make a difference who u were - it would look like it prob faulty ties hence it taking a bit longer as they're prob moving ur connection to another port in the exchange....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION