Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Setting up question.

    This is a discussion on Setting up question. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Quick question as i have heard this being a problem before. Got my sky + box and just waiting for ...

    1. #1
      rubric's Avatar
      rubric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Setting up question.

      Quick question as i have heard this being a problem before.

      Got my sky + box and just waiting for my router.

      Can i plug my sky + box my phone and my router all into the one phone socket if i put a splitter into filter on the phone side?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up question.

      yes you can no problem!

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Setting up question.

      so long as the filter goes in the socket first u can plug what u want into it....in theory
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Setting up question.

      You may have problems if it is an extension and not the Master socket. Extensions cause most of the problems experienced by users.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      rubric's Avatar
      rubric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up question.

      ok great thanks. it is the master socket as it is the only socket. Heard of people on BT broadband who had to have another socket fitted as the sky box caused problems with connection. Good to here that it won't be a problem.

      NOW WHERE'S MY BLOODY ROUTER!!!!

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Setting up question.

      any socket in use has to have a filter on before anything else, regardless of ISP, so make sure you do this...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up question.

      Do not use any splitter of any kind as this can inpeed your internet connection, alot of the calls that we get are to do with splitters of some description or extension leads when these devices are put onto the line they will slow your internet connection down plus it will also build up errors on the line.

      So a rule of thumb no extension leads or splitters if you want to have your BB service running at a decent speed.
      Install extension leads and splitters if you want a slow speed.

    9. #8
      rubric's Avatar
      rubric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up question.

      Quote Originally Posted by narl View Post
      Do not use any splitter of any kind as this can inpeed your internet connection, alot of the calls that we get are to do with splitters of some description or extension leads when these devices are put onto the line they will slow your internet connection down plus it will also build up errors on the line.

      So a rule of thumb no extension leads or splitters if you want to have your BB service running at a decent speed.
      Install extension leads and splitters if you want a slow speed.
      No way around a splitter as i said only one phone socket. splitter will be for sky box and phone so hopefully won't affect the bb. if i dont use a splitter i will end up using an extension so wont win either way.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Setting up question.

      Get yourself an ADSL Nation Faceplate this will resolve 90% of you problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      rubric's Avatar
      rubric is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Setting up question.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Get yourself an ADSL Nation Faceplate this will resolve 90% of you problems.

      Thanks

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION