Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT

    This is a discussion on How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have been with Sky since April 2007 and have been hitting speeds around 880KB/sec Down and 85 KB/sec up. ...

    1. #1
      chrisr01's Avatar
      chrisr01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worcester St Johns
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Post How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT

      I have been with Sky since April 2007 and have been hitting speeds around 880KB/sec Down and 85 KB/sec up. I have read through the forums and am on G.DMT and live 350 Metres from my exchange (Worcester St Johns (WMSTJ)) and have these readings :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 10.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.1 db 13.0 db

      I was wondering if there is anything i need to do (Apart from a phone call) to get Sky to move me on to ADSL2 so I can get better speeds.

      Any help with this matter is much appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT

      is ur downsteam att. always around 15? as its a known bug to have it say 15.5 but id assume its around the same either way....

      u need a ticket raised to tier 3 as only they can move you to ADSL2+.....good luck!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      chrisr01's Avatar
      chrisr01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worcester St Johns
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      is ur downsteam att. always around 15?
      As far as i am aware it is.
      As for the raising a ticket with Tier 3 is that just a phone call to support asking to be moved you to ADSL2+ ?

      Once again many thanks

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT

      yep, but at this time of night u might get lucky and go straight through to them and the can do it in 5 mins
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      chrisr01's Avatar
      chrisr01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worcester St Johns
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT

      Cheers dude I will give it a go.

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT

      The 15.5db looks a bit suspicious but I guess it could be the actual attenuation. If it is then there are probably line issues as with an attenuation of only 15.5db and capped at 8096kbps the noise margin should be a fair bit higher than 12.1db.

    8. #7
      chrisr01's Avatar
      chrisr01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worcester St Johns
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT

      Many many thanks for your help i have just got them to change me over and have just done a speed test and am now hitting:

      Download Speed: 12498 kbps (1562.3 KB/sec ) Upload Speed: 648 kbps (81 KB/sec )

      Me very pleased

      Thanks again You are most definitely NOT the Enemy.

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT

      That's good news

      What is your attenuation now showing?

    10. #9
      chrisr01's Avatar
      chrisr01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worcester St Johns
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      That's good news

      What is your attenuation now showing?
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16.0 db 9.2 db
      Noise Margin 9.2 db 12.5 db

      I live 350 Yds straight Line (700 By Road) from the Exchange so maybe that is why i get such a good speed

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How can i get sky to move me off G.DMT

      bonus! see everyone, it can be done quickly!!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION