Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Wierd SNR rating!

    This is a discussion on Wierd SNR rating! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well, since being on MAX my SNR stays at a stable 7.1dB until roughly 5pm. Well the problem is when ...

    1. #1
      jmanderson69's Avatar
      jmanderson69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fallings Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wierd SNR rating!

      Well, since being on MAX my SNR stays at a stable 7.1dB until roughly 5pm. Well the problem is when i was on connect i got 15dB at all times and i dont want to ring Sky because i get 12mb at all times and they will cap me down to 8mb or some rubbish! But after a few hours my speed drops to like 6mb, im really confused...help appreciated!

      P.S. i removed wires 3 and 4 from my Master and Extention sockets and it seems to drop since then...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Wierd SNR rating!

      Go to the tools and tutorials link at the top and there is a link there explaining Noise Margins which will help you out.

      Once you've had a read, post back with any questions.

    4. #3
      jmanderson69's Avatar
      jmanderson69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fallings Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd SNR rating!

      Ive read it but i dont want to buy one of these faceplates then it doesnt do jack....

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Wierd SNR rating!

      Okay, follow the link in my sig about testing your master socket and you will then find out if it will improve.

    6. #5
      jmanderson69's Avatar
      jmanderson69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fallings Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd SNR rating!

      Ooo, now i get 8dB, hmm...

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Wierd SNR rating!

      thats just it, the line would show a NM of around 15 again if u were capped at 8MB - as ur on Max/ADSL2+ you NM will go down to around what it is......just gotta live with it im afraid - although try the test socket and see if it goes up then if you havent already
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      jmanderson69's Avatar
      jmanderson69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fallings Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wierd SNR rating!

      Ahhh i was using cat5e adsl cable...now using the sky supplied modem lead and it stays above 7 at all times, must be a dodgy cable i bought.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION