Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get?

    This is a discussion on Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ok so i ve decided to move to sky from 3 concecutive contracts with AOL. Ive been reading alot on ...

    1. #1
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get?

      ok so i ve decided to move to sky from 3 concecutive contracts with AOL. Ive been reading alot on this website and i just wanted some one to please verify how fast i can get with sky...
      I Have orderd the MAX package and should be getting my router in the next 2-4 days (so they say...)
      I have checked the line attenuation on my current router (DG834G v3), here is a picture of the details....



      Ive heard from Saturday that a line attenuation of 16/17db is very good (but dont quote me on that )

      Ok i also checked, using the attenuation, with the line checker from this site... (http://www.skyuser.co.uk/tools/Adsl2Checker.php) and here are the results...

      ADSL2+ Speed Test
      We estimate your line is capable of between 16mb to 24mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.


      Im also 340 metres away from my exchange which is Colindale.

      What i wanted to know is when my line is activiated, isit going to be switched to ADSL2 automaticly?
      Can i get speeds over 1000kb/s when i download from sites with a high bandwidth usage I,E Rapidshare?

      Thank you for your help, Touran.
      Last edited by touran22; 02-09-07 at 08:14 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get?

      Well my stats are:

      SN Margin [dB]: Up: 15.0 Down: 28.0

      And I'm getting the maximum speeds and yes you will be on adsl2+ automatically if your on the max package.

      Regards.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    4. #3
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get?

      so you are getting full 16mb? I,E when u downlaod u get speeds of 16000kb/s??!!

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get?

      see the speedtest in his sig.

      You will get 70-80% actual download speed of your sync speed.

    6. #5
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,032
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get?

      As per above post, the maximum I have acheived is 13661 Kbps download.

      Regards.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    7. #6
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get?

      oh ok, so judging by my router stats i can get FULL speeds but get 70/80% from my snyc speed. do u think i can get anything over 1000kb/s? that is my aim lool!

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get?

      well 70% would give 11.2Mb if you sync at 16Mb.

      The 70%-80% figure is just a guide, it depends on lots of factors and could be lot more than this (or less!!!). No way to know until you try i'm afraid.

    9. #8
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get?

      yeha i am going to try it !!!! i should get my letter with the activation details and router in 2-4 days!!

      Also please could u tell me if my line will be converted to ADSL2 automaticly when i migrate?

    10. #9
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get?

      sky will do an initial test and if they don't find errors on your line, then yes they will.

      If they find errors, then you'll probably get put on g.dmt and you'll need to sort out your line errors (with help from these forums) before calling sky and getting them to move you to adsl2+

    11. #10
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just orderd sky, can some one estimate speeds i can get?

      ok cool so basically ill just have to wait it out and wait till my line is active! btw shall i do any thing else when i get my Router?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION