Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Problems moving from connect to mid

    This is a discussion on Problems moving from connect to mid within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi to all, first post so please be gentle. I have been on the connect package for the last six ...

    1. #1
      Mick Spencer's Avatar
      Mick Spencer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: fordhouses
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Problems moving from connect to mid

      Hi to all, first post so please be gentle. I have been on the connect package for the last six months without any problems. Average speed was around the 6meg mark and I was very happy with it. My exchange was done a week ago and I was moved across to the mid package and this is where my problems began. My average speed has dropped to around 1.5meg. I phoned sky who told me that there had been a few difficulties with the exchange but it should up and running in the next 24 hours. While on the phone to them i'd thought i'd upgrade to the max package which they duly did. The trouble I have is that after numerous calls to sky including tier 3, nobody seems to know what the problem is. Tier 3 tested my line and told my it was excellent and should get aleast 12meg. To be honest i'm not very impressed with skys technical support. I had my line capped to 8meg, moved back to g.mdt, all to know avail. Sky were supposed to be looking into it and was going to phone me back within 48 hours. That was three days ago. Is it possible that it could be a router problem? I'm very close to cancelling sky and going somewhere else. Any help would be greatly appriciated.

      I'm plugged into the master socket and all extensions have been unplugged.

      Here are my stats:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 15.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 23.0 16.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 7.8
      Max(Kbps): 11136 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 374335 374333
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 50909604 3181830
      RSCorr: 302 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 121518987 0
      Data Cells: 17390199 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 23 0
      Total time = 1 hours 46 min 37 sec
      SF = 374335
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 46 min 37 sec
      SF = 374335
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 37 sec
      SF = 5705
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      [IMG][/IMG]


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Problems moving from connect to mid

      1. Mid is 8Mb tops so 12Mb was never going to happen. Are you max or mid as your title post and profile differ
      2. IS your test wired or wireless
      3. Run the optimiser (see my sig) and retest.

    4. #3
      Mick Spencer's Avatar
      Mick Spencer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: fordhouses
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems moving from connect to mid

      I was moved from mid package to the max a week ago. I'm also running all test through a wired connection. I have also followed your guide all to no avail. Thanks for the quick reply thou.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Problems moving from connect to mid

      problem is defo ur end as there are no errors and line stats look fine (maybe dodgy router)....

      try the test on my sig and see what u get - should be around 800KB/sec if all's ok....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Mick Spencer's Avatar
      Mick Spencer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: fordhouses
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems moving from connect to mid

      Hi, i ran the tests you advised and was getting around the 180k-200k mark. I think it's got to be something in the exchange or the router, although it worked fine on the connect package. Could a modem work o.k. with the connect package but playup on the mid/max?

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Problems moving from connect to mid

      I dont think it can be the exchange as your stats show you are receiving 8Mb, so it suggests it is something from the router onwards.

      Really you need to
      a) try another router (or take your router to someone else house where they have skybbb) and
      b) borrow someones laptop

      In theory if all was okay on connect, then all should have been fine now. My money would have to be on the router at the moment.

      Process of elimination i'm afraid.

    8. #7
      Mick Spencer's Avatar
      Mick Spencer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: fordhouses
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems moving from connect to mid

      Thanks for all your advice. Going to try and lay my hands on another router and take it from there. Just baffled on how a router works on connect but plays up on mid/max. Sky have just been on the phone (after just slating them) and set my connection to 16341 kbps with out any errors (noise margin 9db) . The bloke was well impressed with the connection but was at a loss to explain the poor performance. Again thanks for all your advice.

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Problems moving from connect to mid

      I suppose there is a chance it could be a damaged network cable, have you got another?

      Just for fun, what speed do you get if you try wireless (assuming you have a wireless adapter).

    10. #9
      Mick Spencer's Avatar
      Mick Spencer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: fordhouses
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems moving from connect to mid

      I have tried other cables without success, even swopped ports on the router. I use 108Mbs cards on the wireless and have the same problems.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION