Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Official speed test

    This is a discussion on Official speed test within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; That is rediculous - the link i gave also gives access to the isps so they can see your speeds ...

    1. #11
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      That is rediculous - the link i gave also gives access to the isps so they can see your speeds and when you took them.

      the other link is just a file that has no record. are you supposed to use a stop watch or something? i think someone at sky has given you wrong information.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts

      No bout. I've spoken to about 15 different Sky people since Saturday and I can say that 90% have give false information (posh term for lied) just to get me off the line.

    4. #13
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      also the whole point of a bt speed test is that you do NOT use your isp to connect. you should log into the bt system to do your test, but of course this is not possible using their router as you cannot change the username and password - so once agin sky have shot themselves in the foot using this silly hardcoded password router nonesense.

      the best you can do is to use the site through sky using your phone number - it still gets recorded but bt may not act on it unless you log directly into their service.

      actually - thinking about it - not sure you use use the bt speed test anyway for an llu line - i know you have to for adsl - perhaps soeone who has had an llu line before and has needed to do speed tests for their isp can comment
      Last edited by dingdong; 13-09-06 at 04:57 PM.

    5. #14
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      This is the only official site BT take notice off, It gives BT a printout of
      your Tel: no. Connection sync and time, in fact all information BT need,

      http://www.speedtester.bt.com/cgi-bin/home.page.pl

      However, you are supposed to go into your router and change the user name to btspeedtest@btspeedtest.com, and use any password,
      This is to ensure that you do the test through BT Servers and not your own ISP.

      However pointless exercise as Sky have denied you that privilege..

      I however can expose one to you, the CEO of Open-reach email address.
      bombard him and who knows he might get peed off and do something about it.

      steve.j.robertson@openreach.co.uk

    6. #15
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Sorry I gave a slightly wrong use name above for BT Speed test..
      here is the correction..

      Login with the user name speedtest@speedtest_domain instead of your usual F2S ADSL login in your modem / router. This will accept any password.
      Also please ensure that the DNS settings in your router are set to 'Server Assigned'.
      3. Once connected go to http://speedtester.bt.com
      4. Enter your telephone number in the relevant field
      5. Once test is complete, save the results to your hard disk, then disconnect and log in with your own username and password.

    7. #16
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      ^as far as i know you cant do that on llu as your not using bt's service, maybe someone will correct me.

    8. #17
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      dingdong is correct, the BT speedtest login doesn't work for LLU lines. It may only work for the base/mid/connect, providing those aren't capped LLU lines too.

    9. #18
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No the BT speedtest will not work with any package except the Connnect one as all the others are all LLU.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #19
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      327
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Try this chaps its the new BT Speed Test

      http://test.speedtester.bt.com:50301/

      It may actually show you whats going on!!!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION