Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Real Newbie Question...Regarding Wireless

    This is a discussion on Real Newbie Question...Regarding Wireless within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Now without complimenting myself I see myself that I know a fair bit about Computer/Broadband etc...but only just noticed that ...

    1. #1
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Real Newbie Question...Regarding Wireless

      Now without complimenting myself I see myself that I know a fair bit about Computer/Broadband etc...but only just noticed that on the front of my PC (above my two additional USB's there's a light which says WLAN).

      I never noticed before so thought, surely this doesnt mean my PC is wireless enabled; and went into control panel, where there is an icon saying "Wireless Nework Settings". Does this mean my PC is wireless enabled; I have no wireless card in the back (as far as I know); no lights, or antenna things :P

      How can I be certain my PC is wireless enabled?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      TheBlueRaja's Avatar
      TheBlueRaja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maryhill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Real Newbie Question...Regarding Wireless

      That's always there even if you dont have Wireless.

      To find out if you have wireless lan, click Start, Control Panel and click the Network Connections icon.

      This will show you all your wireless interfaces, if you have one, and your normal ones too.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Real Newbie Question...Regarding Wireless

      Or look in the Device Manager, under Network adapters. It is possible that you have an internal aerial, which would not be visible. What is the Make/Model of your PC?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      pjd2209's Avatar
      pjd2209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Bracknell, Berks
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Real Newbie Question...Regarding Wireless

      Yep - totally possible its internal

      My Toshiba is, just a nice little button on the from to turn it on and off - which is nice

      if it connect youve got a wirelss card - if not you havent

      simple really!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION