Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Nightly disconnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted

    This is a discussion on Nightly disconnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi. I'm new to SkyBB (and ADSL - just moved house from a VM cable area) and have a little ...

    1. #1
      sparrie2k's Avatar
      sparrie2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Nightly disconnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted

      Hi.
      I'm new to SkyBB (and ADSL - just moved house from a VM cable area) and have a little problem that I would like some advice on before I attempt to tackle Sky/BT tech support.
      House is 5 yrs old, 928m straight line from the exchange (NEL) and I'm on Max. My line is obviously a lot longer as my attenuation is stable at 40.5.
      Every night my SNR plummets, sometimes to less than 4, my line disconnects and normally wont reconnect until the router is rebooted. My stats from the router are below.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 9476 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 5.6 12.0
      Attn(dB): 40.5 24.1
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 9648 864
      Rate (Kbps): 9476 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 245(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 72 68
      B: 244 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.8239 7.7037
      L: 2476 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 2197827 2197825
      SFErr: 4007 42
      RS: 171430572 18681512
      RSCorr: 11842094 50
      RSUnCorr: 54238 0

      HEC: 3453 72
      OCD: 1 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 789175190 63617130
      Data Cells: 182935 20142
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 748 13
      SES: 418 0
      UAS: 14 132
      Total time = 9 hours 48 min 51 sec
      SF = 2197827
      CRC = 4007
      LOS = 684
      LOF = 0
      ES = 748
      Latest 1 day time = 9 hours 48 min 51 sec
      SF = 2197827
      CRC = 4007
      LOS = 684
      LOF = 0
      ES = 748
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 51 sec
      SF = 14437
      CRC = 1731
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 151
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56007
      CRC = 70
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 50
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56006
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56007
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56069
      CRC = 16
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 10

      Basically, based on the attenuation, I would expect slightly better stable speeds (currently if I reboot the router in the evening I get 5Mb), although I do notice from the above that the error rate shoots up at the end when the noise ratio drops. I've got a filtered NT5 faceplate and the router is upstairs on a Cat5e extension, although I've tried plugging it into the master socket and that made no difference.
      Is this likely a bad BT line, bad capacity at the exchange, a dodgy router or just a fact of life I'll have to get used to? (I also notice I'm on Fastpath which I understand gives lower pings - I'm not bothered with gaming so should I ask them to put me on interleave?)
      (Sorry for sounding like a n00b - I actually work in tech support but this is my first experience with personal ADSL)
      Thanks in advance for any help!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Nightly dicsonnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted

      You have high line/CRC errors, when you say you tried the master was that the test socket behind the face plate of the master, also worth checking only 2 wires are connected from your master to your extension, pins 2 and 5 any others that may be connected are not required and may cause noise.

    4. #3
      sparrie2k's Avatar
      sparrie2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nightly dicsonnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted

      Hi,
      Thanks for the reply. Yes it was the socket behind the faceplate and I do only have 2 wires connected (the NT5 faceplate I have only has 2 available on the filtered side). The errors only appear to be high when the SNR drops - during the day they are quite low.

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Nightly dicsonnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted

      You could use mognuts to fix your noise margin a little higher and try that but it may impact your speed slightly as well.

    6. #5
      sparrie2k's Avatar
      sparrie2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nightly dicsonnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted

      Hi,
      I have tried Mognuts but the only setting I've had so far that is stable gives me only 6Mb. My understanding is that with my Attenuation I should be able to get nearer 10Mb? Even with my router plugged into the master socket at around 8:30 last night when it had dropped the connection on the extension, it re-synced at just over 7Mb, my errors were showing as over 18% and I was getting less than 20KB/sec downloading from the Uni of Kent UK mirror which normally saturates just about anything!
      What I'm wondering is whether this dramatic drop in quality is likely due to my BT line quality or Sky's equipment at the exchange?

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Nightly dicsonnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted

      The fact you have a high level of errors and low noise margin I would say you've got a line problem. I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

    8. #7
      sparrie2k's Avatar
      sparrie2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nightly dicsonnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted

      Thanks for the info. I e-mailed tech support and they finally got back to me after 4 days with the following

      I spoke with our Tier 3 Department on your behalf this morning and they have now made some configuration changes to your broadband line which
      should resolve your connection problems.
      Not sure what these changes are - it doesn't appear to have been capped so I'll just have to wait and see!!

    9. #8
      sparrie2k's Avatar
      sparrie2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nightly disconnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted

      OK, I have been capped, or rather they've taken me off ADSL2. Just off the phone with tech support and they claim that the line will gradually increase over the next 3 weeks until it's near to being back to the 10Mb I got on first connection. I may have to remain slightly sceptical about this for a while.
      Strange thing though - my attenuation has dropped from a steady 40.5 (a little large for my liking given that I'm only 900m straight line from the exchange) to 37db and my noise margin is still only 8 or 9 which is about the same as what it was before at this time of day.
      Waiting until I can get a corded phone to check my line with before calling BT as call quality on my digital cordless seems poor when it was clear as anything when I was with VM up the road!
      Latest stats for info:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 608 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7680 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.1 14.0
      Attn(dB): 37.0 24.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 2.9
      Max(Kbps): 8736 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 7680 608
      G.dmt framing
      K: 241(0) 20
      R: 14 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 241 20
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 14 16
      S: 1.0578 8.7619
      L: 1936 168
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 615579 615577
      SFErr: 20 0
      RS: 41859440 5232404
      RSCorr: 4024 64
      RSUnCorr: 150 0

      HEC: 18 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 189569607 0
      Data Cells: 248104 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 11 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 2 hours 54 min 53 sec
      SF = 615579
      CRC = 20
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 54 min 53 sec
      SF = 615579
      CRC = 20
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 53 sec
      SF = 34875
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1

    10. #9
      sparrie2k's Avatar
      sparrie2k is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Nightly disconnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted

      OK, the plot thickens.

      I've had BT out who have done several line checks and found no fault at all. The line is 2.5 Km long despite me being only 800m straight line form the exchange. (something about it going round my estate in a loop beofre it gets to me).

      I've also now been dealing with someone very helpful who I presume is from tier 3 (I got so frustrated that I bunged an e-mail to James Murdoch (what do they expect when their complaints for tells you its limited to 1000 characters only after you've taken the trouble to enter all the details and don't publish an easily findable alternative address).

      They've done some checks, tweaked some settings and I've been stable on GDMT for a few days now. I thnen asked to be put back on ADSL2+ and at first she said that it ouldn't be any good due to noise on my line. Advised how BT said there wasn't any problem on the voice side and wouldn't look at BB problems as I'm not one of their customers. She said that Sky can't talk to BT about broadband problems so I'm pretty much stuck with it. SHe did put me back on ADSL2+ (and back on fastpath for some reason, despite me asking for interleave) but despite getting noise margins of 9+ all evening yesterday, it refused to sync at any more than 6.8Mb.

      I'm getting another callback today so I'll be bringing that one back up. Has anyone successfully got BT to investigate a broadband line problem when the customer was on LLU?

      Latest stats:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6822 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.3 12.5
      Attn(dB): 40.5 23.9
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 6960 864
      Rate (Kbps): 6822 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 14(0) 24
      R: 8 16
      S: 16 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 60 68
      B: 13 23
      M: 16 8
      T: 15 1
      R: 8 16
      S: 1.0456 7.7037
      L: 1775 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 3081542 3081540
      SFErr: 77 1
      RS: 190670454 26193090
      RSCorr: 15297 7
      RSUnCorr: 1282 0

      HEC: 63 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 802013615 89831290
      Data Cells: 4248126 740770
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 49 1
      SES: 3 0
      UAS: 77 14
      Total time = 14 hours 52 min 25 sec
      SF = 3305616
      CRC = 123
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 49
      Latest 1 day time = 14 hours 52 min 25 sec
      SF = 3305616
      CRC = 123
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 49
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 25 sec
      SF = 27568
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55693
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55570
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55693
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55631
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1

    11. #10
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Nightly disconnects - wont reconnect until router rebooted

      There's a bug in the Netgear router which makes it always report that an ADSL2+ connection is using fastpath even when it's actually interleaved. (In fact, the bug is in the Linux driver code for the ADSL chip, so the problem is seen in other routers as well). With ADSL1 connections, it reports fastpath or interleaved correctly.

      If you look at the stats, you'll see two sections, one titled "G.dmt framing", the other "ADSL2 framing", just after the signal rate statistic. In each of those sections, the "D" statistic is the interleave depth. If you were really using fastpath, that "D" statistic in the "ADSL2 framing" section would be 1 and 1.

      So I can see that your line is using interleaving, with an interleave depth of 64 down and 8 up.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION