Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day !

    This is a discussion on Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day ! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm relatively new to Sky broadband, I 've had Max for about 2 months and so far am delighted ...

    1. #1
      FrankM's Avatar
      FrankM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wakefield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day !

      Hi,

      I'm relatively new to Sky broadband, I 've had Max for about 2 months and so far am delighted with the much improved speed compared with the Orange speed and service I just got rid of. This is my first post, and I am not into all the techno jargon commonly used in this forum, so please reply in easy to digest terms. So why am I posting ?
      The only niggle I have is that I found out that I could not access the Uswitch.com website using Sky broadband, and found out that others (non Sky customers) had no problem.

      Yes I have done a lot of reading here and used the search facility on this site and am aware of a thread whereby you add to the list any sites which you cannot access. I am also aware that I am not alone, I have seen that others also have this problem, and I have added the site to the list in that thread, in case you need to know how many are reporting this, rather than just that this is a problem (which you obviously knew about).

      I have also determined that the problem only happens between the daylight hours of 10am and 10 pm , and if I try to access overnight I am always successful. Not a major problem, but I have to know.

      I am curious to know why this is, and if there is anything I can do about it.
      Does adding it to your list do any good ? Does somebody at Sky read about these access problems and take action ?

      Regards, Frank


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day !

      I have just tried and can't access it either, perhaps one idea will be to drop them an e-mail asking why people with Sky as their ISP can't access the site between those hours. Perhaps their IT people can look into it.

    4. #3
      FrankM's Avatar
      FrankM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wakefield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day !

      Thanks for your reply.
      I've already done better than that. I telephoned them (uswitch) and was put in touch with one of their Techy guys. They denied blocking any ISPs or controlling access by anybody. They said I had to refer to my ISP. That's exactly why I'm here since it will be a waste of time and money ringing Sky.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day !

      Try using the online form, available here-
      https://mysky.sky.com/portal/site/skycom/kana

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day !

      Doesn't work for me either,

      Moved to SS
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 27-08-07 at 04:51 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      FrankM's Avatar
      FrankM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wakefield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Re: Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day !

      Well I used the on line form to ask sky, and guess what - I'm still waiting for a reply. Like I said - that's why I came to ask here.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day !

      Hi Frank

      I emailed USwitch about this, I will report back asap.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day !

      Just connected to Uswitch It took nearly 5 mins to bring up the first page then timed out on the first link I clicked

      I have also put in a request through Kana.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day !

      Linking to uswitch via torpark browser...long way round circuits to get there though!!
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can't connect to Uswitch.com during the day !

      Whoo hooo

      Uswitch is now working first time, every time.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 04-09-07 at 03:43 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION