Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Sky Broadband only works when on phone

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband only works when on phone within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It would be much appreciated if i could get some help with my sky broadband. I am on SKy Broadband ...

    1. #1
      matty-w-'s Avatar
      matty-w- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Broadband only works when on phone

      It would be much appreciated if i could get some help with my sky broadband. I am on SKy Broadband Max, and have been activated for about 6 weeks. For those 6 weeks i have been through hours of troubleshooting from sky and even tier 3. The problem is that my internet only connects when my telephone is in use, and as soon as i hang up, it disconnects, baffled? so am i. Tier 3 told me that it may be a faulty router, so they sent a replacement router out, which took 3 weeks to arrive, but still a similar problem arose. Now, to connect to the net, i must dial a number on my telephone and then hang up. It stays on after doing this now, but only connects at an amazingly slow speed of 128kbps. Also, around 2 weeks ago, an engineer from BT Openreach came to my house and checked the telephone socket and the green cabinet in the next street and claimed that it was fine.
      So now, the internet only works after i've dialed a number on my phone, connects at an astounding speed of 128kbps (sarcasm), and it only seems to connect through the Internet Gateway and not through my LAN or High-Speed-Internet.

      HELPPPP MEE PLEASE!!!!!!!
      Reply to this post or email me at mattyw_2k5@hotmail.co.uk if you have any help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Broadband only works when on phone

      Does it work, if you unplug all of your phones?

      Try disconnecting your Sky TV box and see if it still does it?

      Have you tried a different filter on each socket where you have a phone?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband only works when on phone

      well, the 128KB is Sky's test speed (set due to non-connectivity in past T/S) but the fact the line only sync when on the phone can be down to a faulty port ur connected to on Sky's gear...

      as said above, does it do the same with purely a router and one phone one ur master/test socket?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband only works when on phone

      Several users have reported similar symptoms, in almost all cases it proved to be a BT or internal line fault. To eliminate your internal wiring you must plug into the TEST socket. If the fault is still there, then it is definitely a BT line fault. If the fault disappears, then your internal wiring is causing the problem. Note that you must use the TEST socket, behind the Master socket faceplate. There is an outside chance that your phone is defective, so try with the phone unplugged and plugged in.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Oneiros's Avatar
      Oneiros is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESFAL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband only works when on phone

      As Isitme said in almost all cases it's a cabling fault, and for your information in the other instances it's down to a faulty power supply not giving sufficient power to the modem and thus when the phone is picked up it gets the extra kick it needs to connect.

    7. #6
      matty-w-'s Avatar
      matty-w- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband only works when on phone

      Yes, i have tried just the router plugged into the test socket, and on it's own with all sky boxes disconnected, and the same problem still arises.
      If there is something wrong with the wiring, which is what i initially thought, would the BT Engineer who came out the other week have spotted the problem?
      Any more ideas are welcome

    8. #7
      matty-w-'s Avatar
      matty-w- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband only works when on phone

      Also, if there is a problem with the wiring, is it best to send out another bt engineer, or a sky engineer

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband only works when on phone

      Phone BT and tell them you are having problems with your phone line, noises clicking and hissing etc. Don't mention Broadband

      It would be a waste of time and money phoning Sky until your phone line is fixed, they can do little or nothing about this type of fault.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      matty-w-'s Avatar
      matty-w- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband only works when on phone

      Thanks for the help. I'll phone BT and explain to them, and get back on this post if i get any useful help, and what the engineer says.

    11. #10
      matty-w-'s Avatar
      matty-w- is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband only works when on phone

      Oh, and about the 128kbps Sky Test Cap, when do sky remove the cap from the internet speeds? When our connection is sorted? or When i phone up and tell them to remove it?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION