Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Migration Problems

    This is a discussion on Migration Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there. I Was on AOL, but got sick of the letters saying i was 'abusing' the system, and decided ...

    1. #1
      cmt's Avatar
      cmt
      cmt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stalybridge SK15
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Migration Problems

      Hi there.

      I Was on AOL, but got sick of the letters saying i was 'abusing' the system, and decided to move to sky BB as my mum has it and has no problems what so ever.

      I got the MAC from AOL nad gave it SKYBB, got my Netgear router a few days later and was given the 15th Aug as my activation date.

      That day came and wnet, then on friday i get the call (Automated message) telling me that my sky BB was now active.

      I go upstairs and the AOL router is still lit up and connected, and downloading / working no problem.

      I disconnected it and put the Sky router in there - no dice, nothing, would not authenticate the line. Since then i have been using the AOL all weekend. I have tried the Sky router a couple of other times, but with no joy.

      Any ideas?

      TIA

      cmt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Migration Problems

      remember to switch offdisable all spyware/anti-virus/firewall software before trying.

    4. #3
      cmt's Avatar
      cmt
      cmt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stalybridge SK15
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migration Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      remember to switch offdisable all spyware/anti-virus/firewall software before trying.
      Done that, but the wierd thing is that it sems like my AOL has not switched off even though SkyBB say my SkyBB is now active ??

    5. #4
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Migration Problems

      i think you gotta ring AOL And tell them you arent using their service, but DO NOT do that until your sky bb is actually active and working!

      Time to ring SKY up again and tell them the problem. they may have to send you another router, faulty router may be i dunno. Go through the whole process disconnect/re-connect everything. then try again, maybe uninstall modem drivers for old modem/adsl router/box.

      I'm waiting for my activation to Sky BB on the 22nd, see what happens, got told i should be activated before midnight of 22nd. we'll see lol.

    6. #5
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Migration Problems

      migrating from Plusnet tho.

    7. #6
      cmt's Avatar
      cmt
      cmt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stalybridge SK15
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migration Problems

      Router is fine, even got the password out of it and tried it in my other router with the same results.

      Time to ring AOL methinks!

      will let you know how i get on.

    8. #7
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Migration Problems

      I wouldnt i would ring sky 1st, to fix the problem. then ring AOL. its up 2 u.

    9. #8
      cmt's Avatar
      cmt
      cmt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stalybridge SK15
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migration Problems

      Rang them both last night and its like talking to a bowl of cold custard.

      It turns out that my MAC did not take, so they are going to 'force' it this week.

      Here's hoping!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION