Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Slow speeds am i being capped?

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds am i being capped? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all only just found this site, ive been with sky for a few months now and recently my download ...

    1. #1
      Jamie199's Avatar
      Jamie199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow speeds am i being capped?

      Hi all only just found this site, ive been with sky for a few months now and recently my download speeds are very slow 100kbs im on Sky Max package, watching streaming video is near impossible and mucic can buffer now and then. Here are my router stats, is this normal or can i get better speeds?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 760 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8500 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.3 12.5
      Attn(dB): 37.0 21.7
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 8632 860
      Rate (Kbps): 8500 760
      G.dmt framing
      K: 245(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 64 68
      B: 244 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.9185 7.7395
      L: 2221 215
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 65803024 65803022
      SFErr: 2217000 1009
      RS: 311244448 22454775
      RSCorr: 3908381544 2284
      RSUnCorr: 4615179 0

      HEC: 1664494 1687
      OCD: 23 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 4022216388 1897808069
      Data Cells: 340301492 573704403
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 442821 388
      SES: 36154 1
      UAS: 14 15
      Total time = 1 days 5 hours 49 min 9 sec
      SF = 65803024
      CRC = 2217000
      LOS = 17845
      LOF = 0
      ES = 442821
      Latest 1 day time = 5 hours 49 min 9 sec
      SF = 1303282
      CRC = 103799
      LOS = 106
      LOF = 0
      ES = 18807
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 9 sec
      SF = 15488
      CRC = 1230
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 247
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55980
      CRC = 4807
      LOS = 7
      LOF = 0
      ES = 896
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5375035
      CRC = 538951
      LOS = 596
      LOF = 0
      ES = 72505
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55980
      CRC = 4380
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 0
      ES = 879
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56042
      CRC = 4618
      LOS = 9
      LOF = 0
      ES = 831
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55981
      CRC = 4716
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 726


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds am i being capped?

      No you're not capped.

      Your router is syncing at 8.5meg which is a little slow for your attenuation. This, no doubt, is down to a poor line. See the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line problems.

      Your stats show a high level of errors. This is due to your poor line and/or noise margin issues. See the first sticky in my signature. This is not the reason for the very slow download speeds you refer to.

      Your poor download speeds could be several things. Top of the list would be that you are using wireless and have a poor signal. Run a speedtest here wired. If still slow (i.e <7meg) see the second sticky in my signature.

    4. #3
      Oneiros's Avatar
      Oneiros is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ESFAL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds am i being capped?

      Syncing at 8500k and on ADSL2+ may well indicate no cap at all, and if that's the most your line is capable of then I would suggest getting someone to cap your line to 8 Meg and get it set to G-DMT.

    5. #4
      preetkk's Avatar
      preetkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds am i being capped?

      the max you'll ever sync is about 10-11mb but you'll have to lower your snr margin which will compromise the stability of your line. and as "Saturday" said check the cabing and faceplate in your house

    6. #5
      Jamie199's Avatar
      Jamie199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds am i being capped?

      Hi,

      I just ran the speed test and got

      Date of Speed Test: 2007-08-19 14:31:52
      Download Speed: 2454 kbps (306.8 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 645 kbps (80.6 KB/sec transfer rate)

      Any good for my 8MB line?

      Also im not using a wireless connection i have it plugged staright into my phone line about 5m away, would reducing that distance help?

      Does adding a new faceplate void your BT contract if they found out, also how would they find out?

      Thanks for all the help

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds am i being capped?

      It would help if you let us know what you've done, or not done. Was that on the Namesco server as suggested or some other server?

      That result is 25x faster than the speed you say you were getting but still poor for your router sync speed. Did you run TCPOptimizer, (again, as suggested)?

      Until you sort your wiring out and lose those errors you'll never get the full potential for your connection. Have you read the cabling and faceplate help forum (again as suggested)? Your questions are answered there.

    8. #7
      Jamie199's Avatar
      Jamie199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds am i being capped?

      It would help if you let us know what you've done, or not done. Was that on the Namesco server as suggested or some other server? Namesco Server

      That result is 25x faster than the speed you say you were getting but still poor for your router sync speed. Did you run TCPOptimizer, (again, as suggested)? Yes and did nothing

      Until you sort your wiring out and lose those errors you'll never get the full potential for your connection. Have you read the cabling and faceplate help forum (again as suggested)? Your questions are answered there. Yes i did but would any of these help:
      Also im not using a wireless connection i have it plugged staright into my phone line about 5m away, would reducing that distance help?

      Does adding a new faceplate void your BT contract if they found out, also how would they find out?

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds am i being capped?

      I'm sure improvements to your wiring would help enormously as your error levels are extremely high. If you've read the cabling and faceplate forum then you'll presumably have run a comparison with your test socket?

      No, fitting a replacement faceplate will not get you into any trouble with BT.

    10. #9
      Jamie199's Avatar
      Jamie199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds am i being capped?

      Just did a test with my master BT socket and got the same results but when i pugged it into the engineer socket i got:

      Date of Speed Test: 2007-08-19 17:40:52
      Download Speed: 11140 kbps (1392.5 KB/sec transfer rate)

      Upload Speed: 653 kbps (81.6 KB/sec transfer rate)

      Im now connected at 12MB

      Does that mean my wiring is rubbish or if i get a new face plate that will solve the problem?

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds am i being capped?

      There you go - the errors were the final part of the problem (as I said before, they weren't the entire reason why you were only seeing 100k originally).

      Yes, your home phone wiring is giving major problems. Fitting a filtered faceplate should give you the same results as you're getting with your test socket. That is provided you connect your router directly to it with the cable supplied - not via an extension. If you need to connect via an extension then you need to wire it into the correct terminal on the faceplate. Expect some degradation if you do this though.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION