Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Wanting to move to max - need noise margin advice

    This is a discussion on Wanting to move to max - need noise margin advice within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Folks If anyone could offer some advice before I sign up to max that would be great. I am ...

    1. #1
      davewales's Avatar
      davewales is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdare
      Broadband ISP: Thinking of getting max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wanting to move to max - need noise margin advice

      Hi Folks

      If anyone could offer some advice before I sign up to max that would be great.

      I am currently on plusnet up to 8mb adsl, connect at 4500, attenuation 46 downstream, noise margin when I first reboot can be as low as 5.1 and is currently 7.1 after a reboot 12 hours ago.

      I have been looking around here and have read some threads about low noise margins causing problems.

      Can anyone predict if my connection should be OK and stable on ADSL2?

      Many thanks for your help!

      Dave


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Wanting to move to max - need noise margin advice

      you wont be on adsl2+......
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      davewales's Avatar
      davewales is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdare
      Broadband ISP: Thinking of getting max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wanting to move to max - need noise margin advice

      Not wanting to be dull is this due to my noise margin? So if I move to max will I see any improvement in download speed?

      cheers

      Dave

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Wanting to move to max - need noise margin advice

      it is to do with NM, anything over 30 isn't really gonna get anything better than it would on gdmt - and it'd prob be too unstable

      you'd get at least what u get now, so long as your wiring/setup at ur end is all correct and present - personally, I'd always recommend running router from master socket via a filtered faceplate and then go wireless/run ethernet to PC(s)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      davewales's Avatar
      davewales is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdare
      Broadband ISP: Thinking of getting max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wanting to move to max - need noise margin advice

      Thanks!

      Well I looked at my main line box and extensions as advised on DSL zone to optimise speed and found that the extensions had all been wired with all six wires.

      So main box and all extensions are now only connected to wires 2 and 5. Immediate change in speed but no change in noise margin.

      Here are my new stats

      Dave


      Downstream

      6048

      Noise margin (dB) 6.4


      Output power (dBm) 19.7


      Attenuation (dB) 46.0


      Upstream

      448

      20

      12.1

      23.5
      Last edited by davewales; 12-08-07 at 03:37 PM.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Wanting to move to max - need noise margin advice

      you still wont be on ADSL2+ - gdmt would keep it stable but you'd get around the same u get now if not a bit more.....and save a few bob
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION