Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Cant Install!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a discussion on Cant Install!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there everyone. just a bit of background. I used to be on wanadoo but cancelled my subscription with them ...

    1. #1
      del_boy_ben's Avatar
      del_boy_ben is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cant Install!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Hi there everyone.

      just a bit of background. I used to be on wanadoo but cancelled my subscription with them for sky.

      An enigineer came out to install my new Sky stuff on the 6th September, but he couldnt get the internet light to come on the router.- I think it was something to do with the phone line at the time because my wanadoo internet was not working for a while before I cancelled it. He left, so later on that day I tried to install it myself but when I use the cd, it says that it cant connect.

      I tried using different phone sockets and finally the internet light came on. But even with all the lights on and the connections in the right place, the cd does not let me install.

      I set up a wireless network with another computer in my house, and that all works fine. I even got connected to the internet once but for some reason can not connect on the main computer with the ethernet cable. I have tried wireless too.

      I've been on the phone to sky and all they do is tell me the same things over and over again and none of them work. Nothing comes up when I put the ip address in internet explorer either.

      It really is driving my mad. Could it be a problem with my phone line from bt, or am I doing something wrong.

      Thanks in advance.

      Ben

      P.s im using my girlfriends computer and she is getting stressed that im spending so much time on it and not with her!

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      How did you connect to Wanadoo? USB modem or an Orange uglybox?
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #3
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      So do you have the connection to your other computer working. it is just one that doesn't connect?

    5. #4
      del_boy_ben's Avatar
      del_boy_ben is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I used to connect through the live box but when that stopped working I used the speedtouch modem for ages. But then they both stopped working.

      The other computer doesnt connect through wireless anymore, I think it was just a one off.

      Is there any way to manually install the router?

      Thanks again

    6. #5
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      OP is not connected from a SKY IP at present.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    7. #6
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      @del_boy_ben

      Are any of the LAN lights lit on your router?
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    8. #7
      del_boy_ben's Avatar
      del_boy_ben is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      the power light, wireless light, connection light and number are all lit up.

    9. #8
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      you dont actally have to install the router you just need to connect to it - use your pc and wire to connect to it to set it up by putting http://192.168.0.1./ in your browser

      alternatively, if you need to connect through a wireless card you will need to select the router using your wireless software and enter the info shown on your router for the passphrase

    10. #9
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Type 192.168.0.1 into your browser and hit go.

      If nothing, try http://192.168.0.1 and hit go.

      Report back!
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    11. #10
      del_boy_ben's Avatar
      del_boy_ben is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ive tried that a couple of times with the people from the indian call centre. they told me to do that and they told me to change the gateway too.

      None of that works either. Ive resat the fouter loads of times too.

      I really cant work out whats wrong.

      Surely its not a phone line fault is it?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION