Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    1mbs whilst on MAX

    This is a discussion on 1mbs whilst on MAX within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, my name is Dafydd. my Sky broadband came online today...seemed all fine...til I started to download some stuff, instead ...

    1. #1
      DavidHR's Avatar
      DavidHR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      1mbs whilst on MAX

      Hello, my name is Dafydd. my Sky broadband came online today...seemed all fine...til I started to download some stuff, instead of the advertised 16mbs speed (which I understand will vary..and best I can hope for will prolly be 12-14mbs)

      have got a new icon called internet gateway...when I double click on this..it tells me that it's connected at 1.7mbs, which is roughly the speed my downloads are going.

      speed tests online confirm this...been on the phone to sky...and apparently exchange is fine (which btw is rhondda cynon taff, Wales, I believe)....I'm listed as having MAX and yet they detect that I am getting 1-2mbs.....they've said they'll call back.

      just wonder is there is anything I can do?..have tried a few tweaks and such..but nothing is budging...starting to dislike that SKY router XD

      have tried from master socket, same thing. tried turning off upnp, same thing.

      am about 2.62 kilometers from exchange.

      heres stats, anything else I should post?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 718 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1376 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.8 10.5
      Attn(dB): 63.5 38.6
      Pwr(dBm): 1.2 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 1388 816
      Rate (Kbps): 1376 718
      G.dmt framing
      K: 13(0) 23
      R: 14 16
      S: 16 8
      D: 16 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 38 66
      B: 12 22
      M: 16 8
      T: 5 1
      R: 14 16
      S: 4.7613 7.8431
      L: 373 204
      D: 16 8
      Counters
      SF: 466444 466442
      SFErr: 27 1
      RS: 6413608 3964757
      RSCorr: 15511 2
      RSUnCorr: 175 0

      HEC: 26 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 24784156 12894010
      Data Cells: 1301588 172319
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 58 1
      SES: 54 0
      UAS: 14 18
      Total time = 2 hours 7 min 35 sec
      SF = 466444
      CRC = 27
      LOS = 66
      LOF = 0
      ES = 58
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 7 min 35 sec
      SF = 466444
      CRC = 27
      LOS = 66
      LOF = 0
      ES = 58
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 35 sec
      SF = 27794
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 7
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55038
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 15
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54976
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54977
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54976
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Last edited by DavidHR; 11-08-07 at 01:25 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: 1mbs whilst on MAX

      you live too far from the exchange. the best you will ever get is 4Mb and that is if everything is perfect, in reality probably only 2Mb and you are already almost at that.

    4. #3
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1mbs whilst on MAX

      Dont know where you got the idea you would get between 12 and 14mb. You say you have tried from the master socket, do you have the new style master socket where you can remove the bottom half and connect to the test socket? If you do remove the bottom half and connect to the test socket. If not you need to remove the front from the test socket and remove any extension wiring going into the socket. You should then be left with a wire going into terminal 2 and terminal 5. Then connect to the master socket and see what you get.

      I think also you may of been capped at that speed but not quite sure on that. Try all the above to make you line as good as possible then post your stats.

      Also do you have any junction boxes before the master socket? Does the cable from outside come directly into the house and into the master socket, or does it come in and go around the house before it is connected to the master socket?

    5. #4
      DavidHR's Avatar
      DavidHR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1mbs whilst on MAX

      I got the idea as recently moved house and broadband was something I wanted to check out (i.e what kinda service I would get from new address) and I was told from all sources that I was going to be nearer the exchange and I should be able to get much better speeds...............but ofcourse moving house inst that simple, BT took 3 weeks to install phone line, Sky even longer with tv and broadband (ofcourse having to wait until phone line was in)...but there has been alot of messing aboutn with my line since moving in so god only knows.

    6. #5
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1mbs whilst on MAX

      Quote Originally Posted by DavidHR View Post
      I got the idea as recently moved house and broadband was something I wanted to check out (i.e what kinda service I would get from new address) and I was told from all sources that I was going to be nearer the exchange and I should be able to get much better speeds...............but ofcourse moving house inst that simple, BT took 3 weeks to install phone line, Sky even longer with tv and broadband (ofcourse having to wait until phone line was in)...but there has been alot of messing aboutn with my line since moving in so god only knows.
      You may be closer to the exchange than you used to be as the crow flies or even by car, but in reality the phone line can be much much longer. It is often just the luck of the draw.

      Have you tried what I stated above? It does look like the max you will get on a perfect line is 4mb, but probably 2-3mb is more realistic maybe even less

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION