Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Are the speed test reliable?

    This is a discussion on Are the speed test reliable? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I have been on Sky max now for a month and have seen that my line is capped to ...

    1. #1
      sonicm's Avatar
      sonicm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Are the speed test reliable?

      Hi,

      I have been on Sky max now for a month and have seen that my line is capped to 8meg. However looking at the ADSL 2 test on the skyuser site entering the noise of 33db it says I should be on 12meg-14meg.

      I called sky tonight to see what was going on and they said that there is nothing they can do as it's the most my line can do. I pushed a bit as I did not want to take an answer that quick and was told the call will be passed to the second line for further test and someone will call me within 72hours.

      I was wonder if anyone else has had experience with this and what I should do if they say no again, as I understand it 8meg is the ADSL MAX but being on the LLU I should be ok upto 16meg?

      Any help, advice would be appreciated.
      Thanks
      Mike


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Are the speed test reliable?

      you need to post your full detailed router stats using mognuts util (see my sig) for us to really be able to comment.

    4. #3
      sonicm's Avatar
      sonicm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are the speed test reliable?

      Thanks for the quick response, is this what you mean?

      I've attached the netgear.cfg (renamed to .txt)

      Thanks
      Mike
      Attached Files Attached Files

    5. #4
      sneddy's Avatar
      sneddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: saint helens
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      haydock st helens
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are the speed test reliable?

      heres your stats mate

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 22.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.4
      Max(Kbps): 9088 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 8880 8878
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1207690 75463
      RSCorr: 8 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2890590 0
      Data Cells: 253 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 2 min 59 sec
      SF = 8880
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 2 min 59 sec
      SF = 8880
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 59 sec
      SF = 8880
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Are the speed test reliable?

      yep thems them.

      Your stats look perfect. YOu need Sky to move you from g.dmt to ADSL2+ to get the faster speeds.

      To paraphrase 'Saturday' tell sky you had an earlier problem which you have now fixed and therefore they can remove the cap and out you on adsl2+.

      If you do find that your line become unstable, then you can artificially cap your self or even move yourself back to g.dmt without sky's help thus leaving you in full control of your connection.

    7. #6
      sonicm's Avatar
      sonicm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are the speed test reliable?

      Ok,

      Thanks for the info on this. Bit suprised they don't put you on the fast one to start with as im paying for it but will give them a call tomorrow and see what they say.

      Thanks again.
      Mike

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Are the speed test reliable?

      It could well be that from their tests your line is stable at 8Mb, but shows signes of being unstable at higher speeds.

      however as i say, you can use mognuts util to manage your connection and cap yourslef and change modes.

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Are the speed test reliable?

      its all down to stability and the rules Sky have about putting people on ADSL2+ - more than 2K from the exchange and you won't be on it from the off, it has to be proven that your line is good enough. I dont think you'll get 16MB, more like 12, but it should be ok

      my personal view is a stable line is better than fast - but thats just me
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      sonicm's Avatar
      sonicm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are the speed test reliable?

      Hi,

      Just thought i would provide an update, I have just spoken to Sky again about this and they tell me that my line is now set to 11meg. However, looking at the log file below it has increased a bit but still sayd d.gmt, I would have thought this would go to ADSL2+?

      He said it might take a while to sync (and adviced I look at this site for advice!).

      Does this look/sound ok?

      Thanks again, Mike.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8928 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.6 14.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 22.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.5
      Max(Kbps): 9504 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8928 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 280(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 280 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0427 8.6153
      L: 2248 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5351 5349
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 727788 45466
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1924757 0
      Data Cells: 85 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 1 min 58 sec
      SF = 5351
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 58 sec
      SF = 5351
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 58 sec
      SF = 5351
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Are the speed test reliable?

      yeah someone's not done their job right - it should be adsl2+ if they've set the line to 11MB...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION