Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Trying to move from conect to max

    This is a discussion on Trying to move from conect to max within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ive been on the conect package for about 2 months with sky, everything fine but i want to be changed ...

    1. #1
      waring192's Avatar
      waring192 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Coal Aston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Trying to move from conect to max

      Ive been on the conect package for about 2 months with sky, everything fine but i want to be changed over to the max for the unlimited download cheaper sub etc. I wasnt able to go on the max one before cos it was sold out.

      I called about a week ago to get changed over and was told everything is fine, all good so far.
      Phoned up about 3 days later to find out how its going and was told its been canceled, asked why and they said its due to a "incompatable product on my line" and was told to call BT. Called BT and was told the line is fine etc etc (broadband conect is working btw). So i called BT back today and tried to get it put onto max again, they said yes thats fine, called back a hour later to make sure its ok and its been canceled due to a "incompatable product on my line" again. Told to call BT again and was very quickly told by a BT person that its skys fault and not BT's.
      Called sky just 30 min ago and was put through lots of people untill being dumped with a tier 1 tech person who said theres a problem with my line and that i should call back in a few days.

      So i ask, shall i call sky again to actually find out if the change is going ahead or wait anouther week (which puts me into paying 17 for next month again)?!

      PS im losing my mind


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      charmed12007's Avatar
      charmed12007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: lisburn
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      lisburn
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to move from conect to max

      could it be you have call baring on your line ???

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Trying to move from conect to max

      incompatible product can be something like caller id or them 'get cheap calls' things - if u got that on ur line chances are thats stopping it
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      acoolwelshbloke's Avatar
      acoolwelshbloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swansea Main
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Swansea, UK.
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to move from conect to max

      I belive you have to be paying line rental to BT as well as all call costs!

      Some additional features like call barring may cause a problem as I doubt caller ID would be the cause because I have that and they transferred me over from connect to the mid package ok!

    6. #5
      waring192's Avatar
      waring192 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Coal Aston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to move from conect to max

      no, not even caller id set up. Tryed calling again and this tiem they said that im already on the max package?! Im connecting to the internet at the connect speed (upload speed 448 kb/s)

      Going to leave it for a few days i think, il try calling sky again on monday.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Trying to move from conect to max

      ur definately not on max if ur on 448 upload....there is a number you can call about tags/incompatible products etc and ask BT yourself but i don't know it off the top of my head
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      TSx's Avatar
      TSx
      TSx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      310
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to move from conect to max

      0800 169 0934 - BT Wholesale (and if they send you back to Sky to get it removed, its the luck of the draw if you get an agent who knows how to do a tags on the line escalation)

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Trying to move from conect to max

      I find it a bit strange that the OP has/is on Sky Connect and yet they say there is an incompatible product on his line. If there really was an 'incompatible product' on his line surely it would have been discovered before this? I think this is another case of the right hand making a cockup and blaming it on the left hand.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Trying to move from conect to max

      only way to find out is to see what BT say as it'd be their systems saying it....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION