Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Is it on do you think?

    This is a discussion on Is it on do you think? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, today is the day that my sky broadband (mid) is supposed to be going live. At the moment I ...

    1. #1
      Zarrion101's Avatar
      Zarrion101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is it on do you think?

      Hi, today is the day that my sky broadband (mid) is supposed to be going live. At the moment I am using my previous ISP which was AOL. The only thing I don't know is will this connection go off automatically when the new comes on or do you think the sky broadband could be live now just waiting for me to plug in the new router and details?

      I am tempted to plug it in and set up but wouldn't want to be without a connection for most of the day if it isn't going to come on as said.

      Thanks...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      MacUK's Avatar
      MacUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton (SMLT)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it on do you think?

      Speaking from my experience, I had the equipment before the activation date and tried to run through installation. It failed on connection.

      On the morning of activation date (8am), I tried again, and everything was fine.

    4. #3
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it on do you think?

      Only when your AOL connection stops working will your Sky one start.

    5. #4
      Zarrion101's Avatar
      Zarrion101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it on do you think?

      Quote Originally Posted by MacUK View Post
      Speaking from my experience, I had the equipment before the activation date and tried to run through installation. It failed on connection.

      On the morning of activation date (8am), I tried again, and everything was fine.
      Was your previous internet still working before you connected it up on the activation date?

    6. #5
      Zarrion101's Avatar
      Zarrion101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it on do you think?

      Quote Originally Posted by MrStabby View Post
      Only when your AOL connection stops working will your Sky one start.
      Ah ok, thank you.

    7. #6
      Sky_Surfer's Avatar
      Sky_Surfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      135
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it on do you think?

      When your sky is live I recommend phoning AOHell and telling them to close your account. They are pretty good at carrying on charging people after they have migrated.


    8. #7
      MacUK's Avatar
      MacUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton (SMLT)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is it on do you think?

      Quote Originally Posted by Zarrion101 View Post
      Was your previous internet still working before you connected it up on the activation date?
      Yes it was. I was with Demon and used the connection that night. The next morning I set up sky, so I had no interrupt to service.

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION