Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Disconnects

    This is a discussion on Disconnects within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If you keep getting disconnects or line drop outs then phone tech support about the issue, i have just found ...

    1. #1
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Disconnects

      If you keep getting disconnects or line drop outs then phone tech support about the issue,

      i have just found out that Easynet LLU products DO NOT train the line,

      once you have told tech support they can then tweak the line for you and hopefully stop the disconnects.

      hope this helps

      Glenn
      Last edited by SatDish; 12-09-06 at 03:31 PM.
      "To help would be a great adventure"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      adsl2+ does not use training in the same as max adsl - there is no training on adsl2+ products - the connection uses the snr to determine the sysnc rate and adapts dynamically to ensure a stable sonnection

    4. #3
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      that is why people with these problems should phone tech support,

      some people including my self have posted "it could be line training" when it obviously is not
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    5. #4
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      I had posted to that effect, but as I am just learning about ADSL Iwas not sure enough to dispute anyone!

    6. #5
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
      Phoning tech support is bloody difficult at the best of times I've been prommised a callback and have been waiting 4 days now with no resolution Sky do not give a rats about their customers

      If I cancel they say I'll have to pay the cost of them recovering their router. If that happend I will be invoicing them for my time and phone calls. Two can play at that game

    7. #6
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I realy dont know why people have great difficulty getting through to tech support everytime I phone its not a problem

      Tier2 and 3 however is a whole diffrent story mm they hold you for 30 mins


      Edit:hiding evidence
      Last edited by The Doctor; 15-09-06 at 04:16 PM.

    8. #7
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Which is the correct number to call you on?
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    9. #8
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      My connection just quits after about an hour. so what i do is long onto the router using 192.168...
      then clicking on show statistics.
      then click "set interval"
      then "WAN" row then changes from all zeros to some digits etc.
      internet then works for about another our or so until i have to the same thing... so frustrating. i will be giving them a ring.

    10. #9
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by dingdong View Post
      ... - there is no training on adsl2+ products -
      Training is the generic term of identifying the noise (and other) characteristics of each modulation band and is something that old modems, ADSL, ADSL2, ADSL2+ still have to do. What ADSL2+ gives over ADSL is the ability to monitor the SNR of each band after initial training and resync the speed if necessary using a sync flag to avoid bit loss.

      Of course, none of this explains why the signal drops around 6-7pm on a daily basis! One candidate that springs to mind would be AM interference, but I can't then explain why things speed up again after a rooter reboot because ADSL2 (and ADSL2+) is supposed to be able to detect and regain "lost" modulation channels when they become available again.

      Any ideas?
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION