Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Changed over to Mid

    This is a discussion on Changed over to Mid within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I think I have been changed over to Mid today from the Connect package. However when I log into ...

    1. #1
      bjs2007uk's Avatar
      bjs2007uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Changed over to Mid

      Hi I think I have been changed over to Mid today from the Connect package. However when I log into the BT order tracking website it says the order is still in progress. Also I have noticed that the upstream speed has been lowered by the change of package, from 448kbps to 416kbps. Is this normal for the Mid package? Also how do I know if I have been changed over?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Changed over to Mid

      416 is normal for mid llu. If you want to confirm that you've been llu'd, try doing a bt speedtest - it will fail if you have been llu'd.

    4. #3
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Changed over to Mid

      Perhaps in a day or two try logging into the Sky Broadband site and see what it has against your profile. But as says above 416 means you are on Mid.

    5. #4
      ah1604's Avatar
      ah1604 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Fallin
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changed over to Mid

      sry for highjacking this thread but the same happened to me got move to mid
      416 upload phoned tier 3 got them to try and fix my ping then noticed that my upload went up??


      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3040 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.2 13.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.4 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 3584 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 3040 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 96(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 96 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1649 8.6153
      L: 776 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 136970 136968
      SFErr: 4306 12
      RS: 4656990 1164228
      RSCorr: 127684 112
      RSUnCorr: 37857 0

      HEC: 4256 8
      OCD: 1 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 16654561 0
      Data Cells: 768651 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 167 0
      SES: 159 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 39 min 16 sec
      SF = 136970
      CRC = 4306
      LOS = 336
      LOF = 0
      ES = 167
      Latest 1 day time = 39 min 16 sec
      SF = 136970
      CRC = 4306
      LOS = 336
      LOF = 0
      ES = 167
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 16 sec
      SF = 32700
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 19
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 4241
      LOS = 260
      LOF = 0
      ES = 129
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51340
      CRC = 57
      LOS = 57
      LOF = 0
      ES = 30

      going to get back in touch still getting errors on the line

    6. #5
      bjs2007uk's Avatar
      bjs2007uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      80
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changed over to Mid

      Hi I have never understood what the term 'ping' means? Also I didn't realise you could just ring up to complain that the upstream speed was too low I thought Sky had no control?

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Changed over to Mid

      Quote Originally Posted by ah1604 View Post
      going to get back in touch still getting errors on the line
      Errors on the line are your problem not Sky's unless they're being generated outside of your property (possible but unlikely) in which case it is BT's problem to resolve providing it is impacting your voice calls.

      If you call Sky to complain all they will do is cap your connection to a point where errors are low. Looking at your stats that's probably down to about 1meg. Is that what you want? Far better surely to fix the problem.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Changed over to Mid

      Quote Originally Posted by bjs2007uk View Post
      Hi I have never understood what the term 'ping' means? Also I didn't realise you could just ring up to complain that the upstream speed was too low I thought Sky had no control?
      Ping is a term used to refer to the latency of the connection. Measured in milliseconds it is in effect the time taken for a specific piece of data to be transmitted to and acknowledged by the recipient.

      Every Sky connection is capped to a set of upstream and downstream sync rates - that's how the different packages are determined. For instance, on a perfect line ADSL2+ has a theoretical 24meg down and 1 meg up. The Sky Max package sets the limit to 16meg/768kbps but this can be easily overridden by Sky T3. With ah1604 I'd guess the agent got distracted and accidentally set the upstream to the figure usually used for Max not Mid as he/she should have.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION