Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    not getting together

    This is a discussion on not getting together within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I seam to have a net work connection 100Mbps as shown in network satus window, but how do I get ...

    1. #1
      davetnet's Avatar
      davetnet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01670
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      not getting together

      I seam to have a net work connection 100Mbps as shown in network satus window, but how do I get Internet Explorer to pick it up. I have tried selecting never dial a connetion in tool>internet options as sugested after my last post unfortunately this did not work. It still seeks out my original Freeserve dial-up connection. I don't want to uninstall this as it will leave me with no internet connection.
      Do you have any other sugestions please.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      do you have a green internet light on ur router? the 100mbps is purely the connection between PC and router...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      davetnet's Avatar
      davetnet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01670
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      Thank you for your reply, all the lights on the router are as the sky instruction book say's they should be.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      chances are then it's an old 'error 300' jobby (perhaps)

      open you web browser, and type in the address bar 192.168.0.1......login details are admin:sky.....in the router status section look under the heading ADSL port and where it has IP address it 'should' have an address starting 90.x.x.x - if not, thats the problem.....

      we'll take it from there once u check it out
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      davetnet's Avatar
      davetnet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01670
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      Do I use the Default PLESK Page. infront of the numbers or just the numbers. Please excuse my ignorance but I'm totally new to this broadband thing.

    7. #6
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      That link doesn't go anywhere, but read the post above as it is telling you what to do:

      open you web browser, and type in the address bar 192.168.0.1......login details are admin:sky.....in the router status section look under the heading ADSL port and where it has IP address it 'should' have an address starting 90.x.x.x - if not, thats the problem.....
      Open Internet Explorer or whatever you use to view webpages and then type in 192.168.0.1 in the address bit.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      Click This link it should take you to your router set up page. Type in admin for the user name and sky for the password. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the 'Sky Test' button. Make a note of the message you receive.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      davetnet's Avatar
      davetnet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01670
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      In answer to I'm not the enemy's question it look like you have solved the problem, there is nothing in the ASDL port IP address just dashes.

      To answer the next question when I do the test sky I get

      The Sky Test was unable to detect the Internet connection
      Error Code 100

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      right so you dont have an internet light on at all?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      davetnet's Avatar
      davetnet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01670
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      I have three/four lights on

      1 power light
      2 light that looks like a beacon
      3 a light that flashes occasionally inbetween the number 2 and number 4
      4 lookslike a number 1

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION