Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    not getting together

    This is a discussion on not getting together within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; the beacon is the wireless light, number 3 is the internet light (hence its a letter i) - the fact ...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      the beacon is the wireless light, number 3 is the internet light (hence its a letter i) - the fact its flashing means its trying to find signal but obviously not......are you running on an extention? setup (ideally) needs to be master socket>filter>phone/router>ethernet cable to PC (be it one included or longer) - any variance on this will lead to bad connection/not working at all...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      1 power light
      2 light that looks like a beacon
      3 a light that flashes occasionally inbetween the number 2 and number 4
      4 lookslike a number 1
      The '3' above is your No3 port, where your PC is plugged in. Error 100 indicates that you are not connecting to the internet. As IAm........ suggests, try plugging into the Master socket, if you have to phone CS you will be asked to do this. If you still do not connect, remove the front of the Master socket and plug into the Test socket. When you do this, just use the filter, without any phone plugged in, just in case the phone is causing problems. CS will probably ask you to do this too. If you still get nothing, I am afraid there is nothing else you can do except phone Customer Support.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      ^ he meant inbetween number 2 and 4 of the list i think......
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      davetnet's Avatar
      davetnet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01670
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      Sorry for not getting back to before now, but been new to this I did not realise there was a page two. Thank you for your sugestions. I can't work out why I have to use the main phone line socket, do they expect you to set-up your PC in the hallway where my socket is. I will try your sugestions but to get to my PC I will have to buy a long network cable.

      Thank you for continuing suport

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      The reason your are advised to use the Master socket and test from the Test socket is that poorly fitted or low quality telephone extensions can badly degrade an ADSL2 connection. With a fixed rate connection like 1 or 2 MB, these may not make much difference but with a rate adaptive connection of 8/16 MB, they can cause the rate to be reduced considerably.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      davetnet's Avatar
      davetnet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01670
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      Sorry for taking so long to reply, but have other things to take care of. Your last suggestion has worked. I thank you very much for all your time and help,
      there is know way I could have done it without you guiding me through it.

      Thanks

    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: not getting together

      tier 1 support should be able to do this for you, but depending on their experience/understanding of the english language it can be a bit hit and miss

      glad you're sorted now
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION