Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Stumped with slow connection (MAX package)

    This is a discussion on Stumped with slow connection (MAX package) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I know this is similar to hundreds of other posts out there, but I hope somebody can offer ...

    1. #1
      turntableslave's Avatar
      turntableslave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshall's Cross
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Stumped with slow connection (MAX package)

      Hi All,

      I know this is similar to hundreds of other posts out there, but I hope somebody can offer me some advice! I got Sky Broadband a month ago on the MAX package. I know my line is around 8Mbps, not 16, but I wanted to do away with the download limit

      Anyway, when it first arrived it was working slowly at 3.5 Mbps, but still an improvement on the pathetic 1Mbps I was getting from my previous supplier (Tiscali ). That connection was from an extension phone socket through a microfilter (with a phone attached) and wirelessly into my PC (but router and PC were in the same room). Since then, I have moved the router downstairs to plug into my XBOX 360 (as the wireless adapter for that costs 60!). Again, the router is plugged into an extension socket, with a microfilter and wired into the XBOX. I tend to use the XBOX in the evenings, so it is not connected to XBOX Live during the day (i.e. little to no bandwidth being used up), yet my connection upstairs has dropped to a pathetic 600Kbps - and even that is when it is running well. It has dropped as low as 100-200Kbps in the past week.

      I have no idea where the problem is - I have tried:

      * a BT quiet test on my line (all quiet as far as I can tell)
      * reconnecting the wires in the extension socket (no difference)
      * running the Optimisation Tool posted by LNB
      * plugging/unplugging everything that is connected to the line (no difference)

      and I am at the tearing my hair out stage now (and there's not a lot of that !!)

      Can anyone offer any advice as to why my connection is so awful? I was originally going to post for advice on how to improve my 3.5 Mbps connection, but now I think I'd be happy to get that back!

      For info, here is my full stats list as was requested on someone else's similar post the other day. Hope this is what is needed:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.1 13.0
      Attn(dB): 30.0 20.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.8
      Max(Kbps): 10560 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 53341 53339
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 7254462 453381
      RSCorr: 55 4
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 17323772 0
      Data Cells: 211863 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 46 0
      SES: 12 0
      UAS: 102 0
      Total time = 1 days 14 hours 45 min 38 sec
      SF = 28527503
      CRC = 274
      LOS = 21
      LOF = 0
      ES = 46
      Latest 1 day time = 14 hours 45 min 38 sec
      SF = 3117661
      CRC = 159
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 15 minutes time = 38 sec
      SF = 2235
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51106
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5082321
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 46697
      CRC = 158
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Many thanks in advance for making it through this far! Help, anyone?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Stumped with slow connection (MAX package)

      There's nothing in your stats to offer a reason for a low throughput. If I've understood your post correctly you're connected wirelessly? If so, that's where you should look to for the problem.

      BTW Your connection, if you haven't realised, is capped at 8meg, probably because of the line errors caused by your earlier plug in extension.

    4. #3
      turntableslave's Avatar
      turntableslave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshall's Cross
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stumped with slow connection (MAX package)

      Hmm - so I wonder if my wireless card is a bit on the poor side then. It was only a cheapo one I put in a while ago, so may see if I can get hold of a better one.

      BTW - puzzled by the "line errors caused by your earlier plug in extension." bit. Which plug in extension? What line errors? Can you explain a bit further please?

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Stumped with slow connection (MAX package)

      Could be a poor wireless card but more likely it is a combination of the poor wireless performance of the Sky netgear router and some sort of interference. Before investing in a new card try experimenting with different wireless channels. If that doesn't help and even if it does, also try small changes to the router position/aerial orientation e.g. if the router is below the PC tilt the aerial to between 45 and 90 degrees (right angles to the direction the PC is in).

      Sorry, misread your post re the extension. Thought you said plug in but rereading see it is a socket. In any case Sky cap connections when they detect line problems. Most line problems originate from the home phone wiring and extensions and line splitters are the biggest cause of problems. I'm guessing that when you were using the extension your line was generating errors and this is why you were capped.

      The point of my comment was to prompt you to realise, if you didn't already know, that your line is probably capable of a much higher connection if you get it relatively noise free (see the cabling and faceplate forum) and get uncapped.

    6. #5
      turntableslave's Avatar
      turntableslave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshall's Cross
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stumped with slow connection (MAX package)

      Hi Saturday, thank you so much for replying!

      Hmm - some interesting results. Now that I know it is not a problem on the line, I have been trying to move the router around downstairs, but this did nothing to improve the signal. I then tried moving the PC to see if the position of the card made any difference. Get this: by moving it literally a foot and a half the speed went from 512k to 8MEG!!! needless to say, I was chuffed , but this only seems to happen when I hold onto the aeriel of the router (i.e. I am acting as an amplifier to the signal I assume). When I let go, it dropped down to 1-2Mbps. This is obviously still better than the 512k I was getting but any ideas how I can boost the signal to same level? I can't see that I would need a repeater, as the signal is travelling less than 25ft from downstairs to upstairs.

      re: capping. Any ideas how I get the line uncapped or can work out what the problems were in the first place?

      Cheers,

      Dave

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Stumped with slow connection (MAX package)

      Have a look at LNB's Link (#5)for some amazing ways to improve your reception

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Stumped with slow connection (MAX package)

      Quote Originally Posted by turntableslave View Post

      re: capping. Any ideas how I get the line uncapped or can work out what the problems were in the first place?
      Can't think of a way to work out was was the problem only what the current problem is - if any. In your case even the latter is difficult because of your high noise margin masking what's going on.

      To get uncapped call Sky and tell the T1 that your line was capped for an earlier problem which is now resolved. Ask to be put through to T3. Don't try and discuss it with T1.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION