Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Router constantly needs rebooting

    This is a discussion on Router constantly needs rebooting within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have Sky Broadband Connect and have been having trouble with it for a few weeks now. I run Windows ...

    1. #1
      bemused's Avatar
      bemused is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router constantly needs rebooting

      I have Sky Broadband Connect and have been having trouble with it for a few weeks now.
      I run Windows Vista on my Dell computer and have a Belkin wireless adapter. Recently, I have been unable to connect to the internet first time every morning. I keep getting "local use only"
      The only way to solve this problem has been to unplug the black lead into the router downstairs, wait 10 seconds and then reconnect it. If i reboot the computer it picks up the internet connection and works fine.
      I phoned Sky technical support and they took me through various procedures. It ended up with me poking a pen into the back of the router which had the same effect as removing the black lead.
      It worked fine for a time but after several hours I had to revert to my normal cure.
      I thought I'd post something here before ringing back Sky in case anyone had any ideas. They have told me there could be a fault with the router and I may need a replacement.
      Occasionally, my connection slows down and I have also had the odd time when the USB wireless adapter has not picked up the network. But they seem to be solved by rebooting or disconnecting the black lead and it is few and far between.
      This other problem seems to be constant and is most annoying.
      thanks for your help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router constantly needs rebooting

      Have you tried turning off UPnP in the router -- see Sky CD help files for how to access router user interface via Internet Explorer.

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Router constantly needs rebooting

      You may have line errors building up, best thing is to use the proceedure below to extract your detailed router stats and post them here, they may show up any issues. As well as the post above suggests turn uPNP off in the router menu.

      Go to the utility web site:Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 Click the “Get” detailed modem stats button and click “OK”.
      Enter the router login user name and password.
      At the next screen, click the back button on your browser.
      Click the “Download” netgear.cfg button.
      What you do next depends on your operating system. On Windows XP, click the “Save” button to save the file to your hard disk. (If you click “Open”, you may find that the file association is one that doesn’t handle carriage returns the same way as the router, hence the reason for saying “Save”.)
      Open the file in WordPad (not notepad

    5. #4
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Router constantly needs rebooting

      You can turn UPnP off by logging into your router and finding the option of the left hand side towards the bottom.

      To log into your router type 192.168.0.1 into your address bar and enter "admin" and "sky" into the boxes.

    6. #5
      bemused's Avatar
      bemused is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router constantly needs rebooting

      can someone please tell me what UPnP does? and what effect turning it off has. i'm a bit of a dinosaur when it comes to these things....sorry!!

    7. #6
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router constantly needs rebooting

      It stands for Universal Plug and Play (or Pray) but I'm not sure why one needs it. The fact is many people (like me) find they have problems with regular disconnections with it switched on. The concensus seems to be that whoever wrote Sky's firmware screwed it up -- because there are no similar complaints about Netgear's retail version of the router.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION