Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    had max for a month

    This is a discussion on had max for a month within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ..and still sloooooow but router settings saying im getting DownStream Connection Speed 10864 kbps UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps anyone ...

    1. #1
      seyfoooooowww's Avatar
      seyfoooooowww is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      had max for a month

      ..and still sloooooow



      but router settings saying im getting

      DownStream Connection Speed 10864 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps

      anyone got any ideas what to do?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: had max for a month

      full stats would help cause chances are line is full of errors...see link in my sig on how to get them
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: had max for a month

      also:

      1. make sure you try a wired connection to prove/disprove if it is due to wireless interference
      2. Do a speedtest using Namesco BroadbandMax ADSL Broadband Bandwidth speedtest | Test your ADSL Broadband connection speed to prove/disprove if is due to the site you are using to test your speed
      3. Run the optimiser (see sig) to make sure that windows is set up correctly

    5. #4
      seyfoooooowww's Avatar
      seyfoooooowww is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: had max for a month

      i did a wired connection and found it was much faster on download speeds, the pc is quite near to the router



      im 1.6km from the exchange

      these are the stats :

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 10875 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.6 12.0
      Attn(dB): 39.5 21.7
      Pwr(dBm): 0.2 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 10988 864
      Rate (Kbps): 10875 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 243(0) 24
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 84 68
      B: 242 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 0.7120 7.7037
      L: 2865 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 545923 545921
      SFErr: 196 13
      RS: 49133140 4640328
      RSCorr: 2390340 44
      RSUnCorr: 3208 0

      HEC: 158 31
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 224342399 15751828
      Data Cells: 1589723 256946
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 145 6
      SES: 45 0
      UAS: 14 16
      Total time = 2 hours 26 min 5 sec
      SF = 545923
      CRC = 196
      LOS = 56
      LOF = 0
      ES = 145
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 26 min 5 sec
      SF = 545923
      CRC = 196
      LOS = 56
      LOF = 0
      ES = 145
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 5 sec
      SF = 41562
      CRC = 30
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56227
      CRC = 35
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 25
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56165
      CRC = 16
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56166
      CRC = 24
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 19
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56165
      CRC = 22
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 15
      Last edited by seyfoooooowww; 27-07-07 at 07:11 PM.

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: had max for a month

      okay so:

      1. Your main problem is wireless, so keep wired if you can
      2. Your test was was 60% of synch, so you got at least another 10-20% to gain. This is probably because the NM is nbow 6.6db. use mognuts util and set the NM to 8db and post both sets of stats again.

    7. #6
      seyfoooooowww's Avatar
      seyfoooooowww is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: had max for a month

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      okay so:

      1. Your main problem is wireless, so keep wired if you can
      2. Your test was was 60% of synch, so you got at least another 10-20% to gain. This is probably because the NM is nbow 6.6db. use mognuts util and set the NM to 8db and post both sets of stats again.
      I set the target noise margin to 8 and these were the results:

      Wired:



      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 10860 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.3 13.0
      Attn(dB): 39.5 21.7
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 10972 864
      Rate (Kbps): 10860 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 243(0) 24
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 84 68
      B: 242 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 0.7130 7.7037
      L: 2861 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 6168 6166
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 555192 52411
      RSCorr: 572 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2538807 169448
      Data Cells: 6732 1776
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 16
      Total time = 1 min 58 sec
      SF = 6168
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 58 sec
      SF = 6168
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 58 sec
      SF = 6168
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


      Wireless:



      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 10830 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 13.0
      Attn(dB): 39.5 21.7
      Pwr(dBm): 22.5 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 10944 864
      Rate (Kbps): 10830 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 243(0) 24
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 84 68
      B: 242 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 0.7150 7.7037
      L: 2853 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1117 1115
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 100608 9477
      RSCorr: 0 587202560
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 453271 9791
      Data Cells: 0 1
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 29
      Total time = 37 sec
      SF = 1117
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 37 sec
      SF = 1117
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 37 sec
      SF = 1117
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: had max for a month

      for your wireless, you need to improve the signal in some way. This can be simply achieved by repositioning the wireless adapter. Many things can interfere with the signal and a small reposition can fix it. Case of trial and error. As said before, wired will be better.

      For the wired connection, have you ran the optimiser (see my sig).

    9. #8
      seyfoooooowww's Avatar
      seyfoooooowww is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: had max for a month

      thanks, I'll try the optimiser, (does it work for wireless?)

      btw, does anyone else's internet slow down to really really slow loading speeds in the evening at about 9-10ish?

    10. #9
      seyfoooooowww's Avatar
      seyfoooooowww is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: had max for a month

      bump..

      btw, i did this speed test a minute ago using a wired connection :/


    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: had max for a month

      not actually mentioned if ur in ur master socket or on an extention - if an extention then its more than likely that causing the issues - trying in the test socket would also help rule out extentions creating noise on the line so give that a go (assuming u have one)
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION