Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    should i be on adsl2+?

    This is a discussion on should i be on adsl2+? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; could someone look at my stats and tell me if its worth phoning sky and asking to be put on ...

    1. #1
      mitch's Avatar
      mitch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      should i be on adsl2+?

      could someone look at my stats and tell me if its worth phoning sky and asking to be put on adsl2+. thanks in advance

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4192 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 39.0 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 11.0
      Max(Kbps): 4768 1152
      Rate (Kbps): 4192 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 132(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 132 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1203 8.6153
      L: 1064 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 47754 47752
      SFErr: 3 0
      RS: 3247276 405892
      RSCorr: 14516 6
      RSUnCorr: 5 0

      HEC: 2 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 8024085 0
      Data Cells: 251575 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1 0
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 13 min 58 sec
      SF = 47754
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 1 day time = 13 min 58 sec
      SF = 47754
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Latest 15 minutes time = 13 min 58 sec
      SF = 47754
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by mitch; 25-07-07 at 07:53 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: should i be on adsl2+?

      I'd guess for your current line conditions.... 'no'.

      However, your attenuation suggests you should be able to get a lot more from your connection.

      Have you tried the test socket beneath the master socket (see my sig)?

    4. #3
      mitch's Avatar
      mitch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: should i be on adsl2+?

      thanks for the reply mate. what is it about my stats that would prevent me from being on adsl2+

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: should i be on adsl2+?

      your attenuation suggests that you should get a higher sync rate, but your SNR is already at 6.9db and therefore any more speed will result in an unstable connection, so you must have noise of your line.

      by using the test socket underneath the master socket faceplate will be the proof.

    6. #5
      mitch's Avatar
      mitch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: should i be on adsl2+?

      cheers mate.will try the master socket later and post results

    7. #6
      paradoxni's Avatar
      paradoxni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIAT
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: should i be on adsl2+?

      on a similar note.. my line went down today and now my upstream rate is 416Kbps instead of 448K, does this mean im now on sky LLU? thing is thou its only working on G.DMT (G.992.1 Annex A) which is adsl1?

      is is possible to be on a sky LLU but not to be using the adsl2+ modulation ?
      Last edited by paradoxni; 30-07-07 at 08:43 PM.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: should i be on adsl2+?

      is is possible to be on a sky LLU but not to be using the adsl2+ modulation
      Yes, you will only be on ADSL2+ if your line supports it.

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: should i be on adsl2+?

      Yes, looks like you are now LLU. Don't worry about the mode as the router will report G.DMT on both Connect and for all LLU products other than Max where line conditions warrant ADSL2+. Many Max customers are on LLU G.DMT (which is not the same ADSL mode as Connect) because their line won't support a stable ADSL2+ connection. They also tend to put Connect customers who migrate to LLU Max on G.DMT to see how the line copes.

      If you're now on Max (you haven't updated your profile) please post your detailed router stats and I can offer advice on whether ADSL2+ is right for you or not. If you're on Mid or Base then G.DMT is right.
      Last edited by Saturday; 30-07-07 at 09:16 PM.

    10. #9
      paradoxni's Avatar
      paradoxni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIAT
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: should i be on adsl2+?

      im on mid, not max, my line has always been a bit ropey especially during heavy rainfall long line and sync at 1.5 -2 Mb, i was hoping that adsl2+ would give me (even a tiny) boost in signal to try and make it a bit more stable.

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: should i be on adsl2+?

      No, the opposite actually. ADSL2+ gives improved speed on a short good quality line but if anything, no more speed and a more unstable connection than G.DMT on a long poor(ish) quality line.

      Please change your Skyuser profile to Mid.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION