Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Connection Problems

    This is a discussion on Connection Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My wireless connection has been intermittent ever since I got it, finally I gave up and decided to use the ...

    1. #1
      Madgenius's Avatar
      Madgenius is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Connection Problems

      My wireless connection has been intermittent ever since I got it, finally I gave up and decided to use the yellow wire instead.

      Now it ain't working their either!!!!!! It says Limited or No Connectivity.

      Sky's technical support needless to say have been about as much use as a condom machine in the vatican.

      Any ideas would be gratefully received

      Danny


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Connection Problems

      How many pcs you got connected?

      Could try updating your network card drivers.

    4. #3
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Problems

      You might try turning off UPnP in the router (see Help files on Sky CD for how to access router's user inerface).

    5. #4
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Connection Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by fihart View Post
      (see Help files on Sky CD for how to access router's user inerface).
      Or just type 192.168.0.1 into your address bar and login with 'admin' and 'sky'. The option to disable this can be found on the left hand side towards the bottom.

    6. #5
      Madgenius's Avatar
      Madgenius is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Problems

      I've got 1 pc connected, and I've already turned off the uPnP thing, it didn't make much difference

      Any other ideas guys?

      Thanks

    7. #6
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Connection Problems

      When you plugged in your cable did you make sure that you had enabled the wired connection.

      Go to Start, Contolr Panel, Network, right click on the network connection (not the wireless one) and click enable. Do the same for the wireless but click DISABLE, then you know what you are using - wired or wireless.

      Have you got any firewalls on your PC?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    8. #7
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01757
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Connection Problems

      Hi all again.

      Just a quick note to you all about these intermitant connection problems that almost everyone seems to be getting. I answered a post about using parts of the sky router for a laptop all technical stuff and not relevant in this thread except to say that it was to upgrade my laptop to a 108 Mbps wireless card. I did that and it worked as far as my laptop was concerned. I of course needed a 108 Mbps router to try the "faster" connection with. Since I have been with Sky I have been using a netgear 54Mbps router that I have had for years and its been more or less as solid as a rock. Yesterday to test the 108Mbps thingy I reverted to my supplied sky router. Ever since then my connection has been up and down like a yo yo. every few minutes it would cut off and then reconnect a few minutes later. I bought a Netgear 108Mbps router a few years ago when they first came on the market along with a 108 Mbps PCMCIA card for an older laptop that I have. I went through 3 of those routers before I told the supplier to forget the 108 Mbps and change it for a 54 Mbps one. Since then I have had no trouble whatsoever with drop outs until yesterday. Now I'm sorry to say I do not know why the 108 Mbps router is so unreliable. I also know that there are others on this forum that use the Sky router without any problems whatsoever. That hasn't been the case for me and I suspect it hasn't been the case for literally hundreds if not thousands of other Netgear/Sky 108 Mbps router users. I personally am convinced that a lot of the problems being experienced by Sky users are being caused by this router. What to do about it? I really don't know, what I do know is that an awful lot of people are not getting the service that they are paying for and that WOULD include me if I was using the Sky supplied router. Reading through numerous posts in this forum it has become abundantly clear that Sky would certainly frown on me using my own router (that smacks of Big Brother tactics to me like making me connect my sky box to my telephone line which I alo do not do) and would even close my account for using my own router, but to be honest if I was using their router I would be suffering exactly the same problems as hundreds of others and I would have cancelled my account with them during the cooling off period. They (Sky) nust have lost thousands of customers because of this problem and their next to nothing customer support. Oh and for the employees of Sky who might tell me that I am using my account against Sky's T&c's I know I am but when I opened my account a couple of months back I stipulated that if I couldn't use my own router I wouldn't go with Sky. I told the sales guy that I did not want a Sky router but he told me that I had to have one but I didn't have to use it and actually told me to sell it on Ebay if I didn't want it. Of course if push comes to shove with my account in the future that part of my conversation with Sky will be strenuously denied.

      Sorry about this long post but I do feel strongly about all this messing about us paying customers are getting from Sky. I have posted about aspects of this post in other threads but this one kinda brings it all together somewhat.

    9. #8
      Madgenius's Avatar
      Madgenius is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Problems

      Yeah, I do have a firewall, but it was disabled at the time. I'm not sure if I did the rest or not, I was fiddling for ages.

    10. #9
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Connection Problems

      Is it working?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    11. #10
      Madgenius's Avatar
      Madgenius is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection Problems

      The uPnP thing had reset itself for some reason, I've just turned it off again. I'll see how it goes

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION