Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Am I Being Capped

    This is a discussion on Am I Being Capped within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have run various speed tests and although i have a stable connection, at least i do now after disabling ...

    1. #1
      boblard's Avatar
      boblard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLOUGH
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Am I Being Capped

      I have run various speed tests and although i have a stable connection, at least i do now after disabling upnp, i am only getting 1mb conenctions on my 16 mb max package

      here are the router stats

      System Up Time 10:27:30
      Port txPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s rx B/s Up Time
      WAN 54215 50622 0 639 411 10:25:52
      LAN 159 0 0 0 0 10:27:28
      WLAN 51390 56473 0 435 661 10:27:18

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1216 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.0 db 9.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      djpatrick's Avatar
      djpatrick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I Being Capped

      Hi
      Based on the attenuation figures, you are far away from the local exchange like me. Even if you are on the Max 16MB package you will still get about 1MB download speeds. This is the max you can expect over this distance (and mine is the same)

    4. #3
      boblard's Avatar
      boblard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLOUGH
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I Being Capped

      i checked the distance and it informed me that as the crow flies i am 3.1KM away from the exchange, is this far?

    5. #4
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I Being Capped

      Call me picky but your on the "UP TO 16 MEG" package, NOT a 16 meg package! ( meaning anything between 0 and 16 )

      3.1 Km as the crow flies means in a straight line and your line could infact be even longer as it will follow street paths !!!

      The line attenuation of 63 means your quite a distance from the exchange so if 1 meg is all the line will take then afraid 1 meg is all you`ll get but post your full stats from the router and someone will have a look and see if u could get slightly more.
      http://www.speedtest.net/



      Users armed with a little knowledge are dangerous things!
      Step away from the keyboard slowly............your right to use the internet has been revoked!
      You have a 'PEBKAC' problem

    6. #5
      boblard's Avatar
      boblard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLOUGH
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I Being Capped

      I understand that i am on the UP TO 16MB Package and i am not expecting to get 16mb.

      i just wondered if my 1mb connection is caused by me being capped

      here are the detailed router stats

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 896 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.6 9.0
      Attn(dB): 63.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 14.6 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 1024 960
      Rate (Kbps): 896 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 29(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 8 8
      D: 16 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 39 25
      M: 4 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.4000 8.6153
      L: 320 208
      D: 32 8
      Counters
      SF: 483311 483309
      SFErr: 5 66
      RS: 4108148 4108126
      RSCorr: 13232 1070
      RSUnCorr: 10 0

      HEC: 4 42
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 17363642 0
      Data Cells: 780917 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1382 0
      SES: 821 0
      UAS: 71 0
      Total time = 13 hours 10 min 51 sec
      SF = 2785545
      CRC = 15547
      LOS = 827
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1382
      Latest 1 day time = 13 hours 10 min 51 sec
      SF = 2785545
      CRC = 15547
      LOS = 827
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1382
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 51 sec
      SF = 38345
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2

      Any help/advice anyone can give will be most appreciated

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Am I Being Capped

      You may be capped - your router stats aren't absolutely conclusive. A comparison with your test socket would help.

      However, with an attenuation of 63.5db your sync speed is limited to to ~2250kbps. Not much but better than you have but probably worth striving for. Your stats show a high number of errors which will have a negative impact on your sync speed. See the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line problems.

      Note: You would be wasting your time and Sky's by contacting them about this problem until you have a clean line as it is your issue to deal with not theirs.

    8. #7
      boblard's Avatar
      boblard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLOUGH
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I Being Capped

      unfortunately i only have two points in my house, one is an extension block the other is a double port and when unscrewed only reveals wires connected to 2 & 5.

      I have searched all over and i can find 2 small bt boxes that have wires coming out but thats all

      i guess 1mb it is then

      thanks

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION