Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Newly Activated

    This is a discussion on Newly Activated within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I was activated around 10 am this morning. I got onto the Sky Broadband site with very little problem however ...

    1. #1
      ScottishSweetie's Avatar
      ScottishSweetie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Newly Activated

      I was activated around 10 am this morning. I got onto the Sky Broadband site with very little problem however since then everything is very slow & it's very annoying, some things aren't even opening at all. Is this normal & should it settle after a few days? Lights are all on on the Router although the Internet light & #1 flicker, is that normal too?

      edit- Meant to add, I reebooted the router & things are better since then but obvioulsy I don't want to keep doing that.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Newly Activated

      yes, the light sflickering is normal (they're sending/receiving info)....

      best to post full stats up to let the bods have a look
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      ScottishSweetie's Avatar
      ScottishSweetie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newly Activated

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      yes, the light sflickering is normal (they're sending/receiving info)....

      best to post full stats up to let the bods have a look
      How do I do that It seems to be going ok now but would like to see what other people think of the stats.

      Oops, just saw the link in your sig, will try that.

    5. #4
      ScottishSweetie's Avatar
      ScottishSweetie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newly Activated

      OK, here they are. I don't know whether it makes a difference but at the moment I am not on the pc that the router is connected to, I am on a wired network.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5248 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 13.0 db

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Newly Activated

      whenever the NM drops below 7db, the connection will become unstable.

      If you reboot the roouter at about 8-9pm, then it should always stay above 7db.

      Loads of threads on this topic. Look up Saturday on the member list and then check his signature as he has alink that explains all of this in far freater detail.

      edit: here's the link from saturdays sig: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/speed...explained.html
      Last edited by reddwarfcrew; 19-07-07 at 01:21 AM.

    7. #6
      ScottishSweetie's Avatar
      ScottishSweetie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newly Activated

      Thanks for the link, I'll check that out.
      I have to say though, this was something that was putting me off Sky before I migrated. Why should I need to keep rebooting the router? I got my last router, a Buffalo, in May & had never rebooted.

    8. #7
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newly Activated

      your rebooting as your line is becoming unstable most likely due to errors and a poor noise margin at peak times.

      Lookin at your basic stats you posted it's going to need config work done on it.

      U in the master socket?

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Newly Activated

      Quote Originally Posted by ScottishSweetie View Post
      Thanks for the link, I'll check that out.
      I have to say though, this was something that was putting me off Sky before I migrated. Why should I need to keep rebooting the router? I got my last router, a Buffalo, in May & had never rebooted.
      But what speed were you syncing at on your old router. The same problems were probably there, but because you were syncing at a lower speed the problems were never highlighted.

      In theory the netgear should auto adjust your sync rate to maintain the NM at 7db, but that feature simply doesn't seem to work (its called seemless rate adaption SRA).

    10. #9
      ScottishSweetie's Avatar
      ScottishSweetie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Halfway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Newly Activated

      All this sync talk is wayyy to confusing for me

      Master socket - ie, plugged into the main bt socket? Yeah if that's what the master socket is.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION