Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Router probs

    This is a discussion on Router probs within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm using wired connection, and for the past 2 weeks I haven't been able to get online with any regularity. ...

    1. #1
      rogers1892's Avatar
      rogers1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router probs

      I'm using wired connection, and for the past 2 weeks I haven't been able to get online with any regularity.

      If I do connect (adsl light on) then the speed is desperately slow, and usually after five mins the connection drops. I generally have to re-boot to get connection back, but again this will only be for a few minutes.

      Also, I've noticed that if I make a phone call from landline I can get the connection back????

      Now when all works well, I can get amazing speeds, but this is an extremely rare occurence now.

      I'm fairly clueless on all things technical if that isn't obvious from the post, but any help greatly appreciated.

      I have unticked Upnp box.

      Thanks, G.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      rogers1892's Avatar
      rogers1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router probs

      Anyone?? I'm currently waiting for Level3 support to get back to me, but from what I've read, if they bother to call back they'll be very little help anyway. I'm sure it's a simple set up problem, but like I say, I have very limited tech knowledge on this subject!
      Thanks

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Router probs

      have you tried connecting to the test socket beneath the master socket.
      do you have filters on every bit of phone related equipment (sky box, fax, phone etc)

    5. #4
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Router probs

      Quote Originally Posted by rogers1892 View Post
      Anyone?? I'm currently waiting for Level3 support to get back to me, but from what I've read, if they bother to call back they'll be very little help anyway. I'm sure it's a simple set up problem, but like I say, I have very limited tech knowledge on this subject!
      Thanks
      You could also try emailing them using their on site form, I did and this is how my problems got fixed. I was capped and now have a prefect connection.

    6. #5
      rogers1892's Avatar
      rogers1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router probs

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      have you tried connecting to the test socket beneath the master socket.
      do you have filters on every bit of phone related equipment (sky box, fax, phone etc)
      Checked the test socket with the woman at Sky on Saturday when I called and that didn't appear to be problem. I've started using a new micro filter as suggested by Sky.

      In fairness though, I did stay connected all of last night and haven't switched off box today, so should still be onl when I get home. The download speed was woefullt slow at 150kb, and I know I can get up 900kb as I have in the past.

      People on other postes have suggested rebooting router during the evening, 8pm being suggested, something to do with the noise margin?? Could that be the issue?

    7. #6
      rogers1892's Avatar
      rogers1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router probs

      I could mean Mb not Kb for those download speeds. I'm such an amateur

    8. #7
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Router probs

      You could post your detailed router stats using the proceedure below, which might throw some light.

      Go to the utility web site: Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 Click the “Get” detailed modem stats button and click “OK”.
      Enter the router login user name and password.
      At the next screen, click the back button on your browser.
      Click the “Download” netgear.cfg button.
      What you do next depends on your operating system. On Windows XP, click the “Save” button to save the file to your hard disk. (If you click “Open”, you may find that the file association is one that doesn’t handle carriage returns the same way as the router, hence the reason for saying “Save”.)
      Open the file in WordPad (not notepad).

    9. #8
      rogers1892's Avatar
      rogers1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router probs

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 576 Kbps, Downstream rate = 448 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 31.9 8.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 27.0
      Pwr(dBm): 16.7 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 544 672
      Rate (Kbps): 448 576
      G.dmt framing
      K: 15(0) 19
      R: 16 16
      S: 8 8
      D: 16 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 8897780 8897778
      SFErr: 66 165850
      RS: 75631134 75631113
      RSCorr: 315974 214722
      RSUnCorr: 152 0

      HEC: 56 95828
      OCD: 1 111756
      LCD: 0 22026
      Total Cells: 159824666 0
      Data Cells: 8830380 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 12805 0
      SES: 11224 0
      UAS: 112 0
      Total time = 1 days 8 min 47 sec
      SF = 10185868
      CRC = 73231
      LOS = 29992
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12805
      Latest 1 day time = 8 min 47 sec
      SF = 30994
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 min 47 sec
      SF = 30994
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5082145
      CRC = 46
      LOS = 18501
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5867
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      As always, any help greatly appreciated...thanks

    10. #9
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Router probs

      Were these taken from the test socket behind the face plate, if not I would try agin there because you have high CRC errors, also I think your speed is serverely capped by Sky probabaly because of the errors.

    11. #10
      rogers1892's Avatar
      rogers1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router probs

      These are taken from the main socket not the test......

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION