Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 30

    Having to reset router every night??

    This is a discussion on Having to reset router every night?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have been connected to SKY BB Max since friday and to be honest i am quite happy with it. ...

    1. #1
      jock23's Avatar
      jock23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Southport, Merseyside
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Having to reset router every night??

      I have been connected to SKY BB Max since friday and to be honest i am quite happy with it. My original sync stats were as follows:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15069 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db 19.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 12.5 db

      After a bit of tweaking I get up to 12mbps download speeds, which I am made up with.

      However the problem is that it seems every pm I have to reset my router as my speeds drop extremely slow or stop at all. After resetting everything seems back to normal, but I am wondering if I have a problem somewhere?? The only thing i can see different is that before I reboot my noise margin drops to below 6db, and then after my reboot the sync speed will drop, last night it was at 13800kbps (still very good imo!!)

      Is there something i can do to stop this? Its just annoying having to set up port forwarding all the time after rebooting and not having a consistent speed!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Having to reset router every night??

      Thats sounds about right. To get a 24x7 stable connection, you need to leave teh router synched at a lower rate (ie reboot the router at aroun 8pm and then don;t reboot again). YOu need a noise margin of 7 or above for a stable connection and the noise margin always drops in the evening, so rebooting at about 8pm will give you a higher NM in the daytime which drops to around the 7db in the evening but without the need to keep rebooting everyday.

    4. #3
      jock23's Avatar
      jock23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Southport, Merseyside
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having to reset router every night??

      so if i reboot every night at around 8pm for a while i wont have to reboot as often??

      is there a program on here that does that for me? (i read about it somewhere else)

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Having to reset router every night??

      You can use the utility below to set your noise margin slightly higher, It would also be worth using the same utility to extract your detailed router stats after the router has been running and in use for a few hours and post them here so we can check for line noise etc. If your going to post your stats then do it before adjusting the noise margin.

      Go to the utility web site: Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4
      Click the “Get” detailed modem stats button and click “OK”.
      Enter the router login user name and password.
      At the next screen, click the back button on your browser.
      Click the “Download” netgear.cfg button.
      What you do next depends on your operating system. On Windows XP, click the “Save” button to save the file to your hard disk. (If you click “Open”, you may find that the file association is one that doesn’t handle carriage returns the same way as the router, hence the reason for saying “Save”.)
      Open the file in WordPad (not notepad).

    6. #5
      jock23's Avatar
      jock23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Southport, Merseyside
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having to reset router every night??

      right i have done that, had my router running since last nights reboot.

      here are my stats:



      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 14350 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 12.5
      Attn(dB): 33.5 19.1
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 14352 864
      Rate (Kbps): 14350 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 115 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.5306 7.7037
      L: 3844 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 459616 459614
      SFErr: 5 1
      RS: 55613590 3906719
      RSCorr: 718148 15
      RSUnCorr: 72 0

      HEC: 5 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 249755222 13275361
      Data Cells: 34859041 5811938
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 8 1
      SES: 5 0
      UAS: 14 17
      Total time = 2 hours 3 min 18 sec
      SF = 459616
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 3 min 18 sec
      SF = 459616
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 18 sec
      SF = 12331
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56113
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56051
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56051
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56051
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1





      How do i run the noise reboot thing?

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Having to reset router every night??

      with a NM of 7.1, you'll lose the connection tonight. Use mognuts util again and set to around 9-10db.

    8. #7
      jock23's Avatar
      jock23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Southport, Merseyside
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having to reset router every night??

      do i just set the noise margin then reboot the router??

    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Having to reset router every night??

      No set the noise margin and dont reboot, if you reboot it will clear the setting, your stats look Ok, but the router has only been running 2 hours according to them.

    10. #9
      jock23's Avatar
      jock23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Southport, Merseyside
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having to reset router every night??

      right so when i set the noise margin it comes up with a page saying ping on it but does not reboot the router, is that right??

      The router has been on since last night, pc only been on since about 7 this morning

    11. #10
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Having to reset router every night??

      The router should have logged stats all night so it indicate's it must have rebooted a couple of hours ago. I've not used mognuts to set the noise margin myself so not sure of the proceedure but I do know that if you reset or reboot it you will loose any changes you have made.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION