Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Problems with speed...

    This is a discussion on Problems with speed... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; First of all, sorry if other threads would help this problem, I did have a look, but other issues were ...

    1. #1
      Springy's Avatar
      Springy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Problems with speed...

      First of all, sorry if other threads would help this problem, I did have a look, but other issues were not entirely like mine.

      Ok, here we go!

      I signed up to sky bb in March. Was told it would take 14 days to be activated, so fair enough. within 14 days I had a router delivered and the broadband was on at a speed of 2MB connection. I'm on the mid package but never asked about what max speed i'd get, just assumed it would be what it is, and go from there. So, 2 MB it stayed, which i was happy enough with.

      Then after 2 months of perfect bb, the connection becomes intermittent. First it only seemed to do it after 6pm and before 9am, then began doing it at all random times. After several calls to the helpdesk and millions of resets of the router, sky finally said I'd be sent a new router. The router turned up quickly, i set it all up but the connection was still intermittent.

      Amazingly after a few days the connection stayed permanent, but it only connected at 128K. I rang up sky and they said it was normal as they had been testing the lines when i first had issues. Fair enough I thought, being as I really don't know a great deal about these things.

      That phone call was a month ago.

      Since then after several phone calls all i get told is to go thru the reset procedures with the router, enusre it's plugged into the master socket, which it is (actually in the test socket behind the cover). And now i've finally had enough. each time i ring now I get told after 30 mins that Tier 3 are looking at this and not to call back until after 5 working days.

      Can anyone offer any kind of advice? I'm thinking of cancelling but to be honest, the price for this bb is far better than elsewhere being as i get it with the tv/ talk package.

      Sorry about the big read!!



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Problems with speed...

      It may look as if you have a unstable line, In which the Tier 3 department have put a 128K speed cap on you.

      Could you post some stats;

      DG834GT - "Get Detailed Modem Statistics" and follow the instructions and then post the output file in this thread.

    4. #3
      Springy's Avatar
      Springy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: Problems with speed...

      Sorry to sound like an idiot but how do i post it on here?

      I did as you said, downloaded the file but when i try to attach it says invalid file type. Also I don't have anything to open it with to read it.

      Sorry again!

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed...

      open the resulting file in notepad and paste the contents in a post!

    6. #5
      Springy's Avatar
      Springy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed...

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 128 Kbps, Downstream rate = 128 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 26.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 53.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 9.7 0.1
      Max(Kbps): 2368 1120
      Rate (Kbps): 128 128
      G.dmt framing
      K: 5(0) 5
      R: 16 16
      S: 8 16
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 5 5
      M: 8 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 10.6666 18.6666
      L: 48 48
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 2776843 2776841
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 23603176 11801574
      RSCorr: 6583 56
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 14251116 0
      Data Cells: 2637393 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 840 0
      SES: 840 0
      UAS: 23 0
      Total time = 13 hours 7 min 21 sec
      SF = 2776843
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 878
      LOF = 0
      ES = 840
      Latest 1 day time = 13 hours 7 min 21 sec
      SF = 2776843
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 878
      LOF = 0
      ES = 840
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 21 sec
      SF = 25994
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 10
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 16
      LOF = 0
      ES = 16
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 21
      LOF = 0
      ES = 20
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 15
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Problems with speed...

      well, ur defo capped at test speeds. however - errors are forming even at that speed, u may well have a line problem. In the meantime, cal tech and say that ur line was capped to 128K from a previous issue and you need the cap removed - its a 2 min job and hopefully they'll pass you through

      EDIT: actually, not errors. loss of sync i think...
      Last edited by IWasNotTheEnemy; 15-07-07 at 01:08 PM. Reason: wrong diagnosis

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION