Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Can't access router settings

    This is a discussion on Can't access router settings within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I'm feeling sheepish. After successfully setting up my own wireless router with Pipex, I somewhat cockily said I ...

    1. #1
      Achillies's Avatar
      Achillies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can't access router settings

      Hi all, I'm feeling sheepish.

      After successfully setting up my own wireless router with Pipex, I somewhat cockily said I could help my sister out of a pickle with her broadband problems. I was wrong!

      She is with BT broadband, but signed up to Sky's all inclusive package including the broadband. When she found out that she would have to be without broadband altogether while they removed the markers on the line etc, she thought she'd stay with BT. She has however, received the Sky Netgear router, and I said "no problem" I can reconfigure that to work with the BT broadband - but I'm stuck.

      All the cables have been connected - LAN to her PC, the ADSL in to the ADSL socket, voila - all the lights came on like a Xmas tree. However, when I go into a browser, type in http://192.168.0.1 I can not get the settings to appear on the screen - it just says it can not find the page.

      I'm sure this is going to be something rediculously simple - but would really appreciate the advise on what step it is I'm forgetting to take that is stopping me getting to the settings screen.

      Thanks all,
      Dave


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Can't access router settings

      It's not clear from your post, but if she's stayed with BT, then why not just plug the old router back in? Why are you trying to use the sky one.

      If you do use the sky one, then you will need to flash it with the netgear firmware as the sky firmware will not let you change the username to the BT one.

    4. #3
      Achillies's Avatar
      Achillies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't access router settings

      Thanks for the reply. Its because the BT modem is a USB modem and we wanted to get my niece on BB in her room, which she can do if we can get Sky's wireless to work.

      I can have a look, but do you have a recommended thread for flashing the Sky router?

      Thanks again, its appreciated.

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Can't access router settings


    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Can't access router settings

      and in the meantime if Sky ask for the router back ur screwed.....y not just buy one? only 20 for an ethernet ones these days

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION