Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Just connected - is this reasonble?

    This is a discussion on Just connected - is this reasonble? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just got connected today. I'm on the Max package, here are my stats: Downstream connection speed: 7496 kbps Upstream connection ...

    1. #1
      Nezza's Avatar
      Nezza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just connected - is this reasonble?

      Just got connected today.

      I'm on the Max package, here are my stats:

      Downstream connection speed: 7496 kbps
      Upstream connection speed: 764 kbps

      Attenuation: 41.5 db
      Noise margin: 7.7 db

      I'm 779 metres from the exchange.

      Is this a reasonable down speed based on the stats? I was hoping for 10+ mb/s.

      Is this continues I see no reason to stay on Max - I'm not getting over 8mb/s!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      508
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
      MAX is unlimited the others have CAPS.

    4. #3
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      well now you physically may be 779 metres from an exchange BUT
      that doesnt say how long your phone line loop is now i have a line Attenuation of 61 noise margin 6.2 or somthing goes between 6.2 and 7
      yet i live 2.8km as the crow flys yet my line length is just over 6.5km's so i think u possibly have the same issues of being on the return end of the loop

    5. #4
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      i would be happy with them speeds with them stats

      on top of what annie says you also get faster upload speed on MAX aswell,
      and at the moment i dont think you can downgrade with Sky .
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    6. #5
      Fox McCloud's Avatar
      Fox McCloud is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEMI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Middlesbrough
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      im only 700 metres away but can recieve 6.5MB+ on BTMAX so does that mean I should get a decent speed with SKY MAX ?
      How woudl I go about finding out my line attenuation stats ? If i dont have an adsl router ...

    7. #6
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      well i was on 512k and im getting 3mbit

      i dunno what you should get have alooky

      http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.htm

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @Nezza

      They are not to bad as has been said depends on actual line length one way to see if you can improve it is unscrew the faceplate on the master socket and test it in the test socket behind it, see if the stats improve.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #8
      Nezza's Avatar
      Nezza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How do I do that wheelie?

    10. #9
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks LNB I should have thought of that myself
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION