Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    speed maxed out for 20s then 30s nothing, then rinse and repeat

    This is a discussion on speed maxed out for 20s then 30s nothing, then rinse and repeat within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I moved house recently and on Monday my Max package was reconnected. My old house gave me 2.5MB stable as ...

    1. #1
      d3fiant's Avatar
      d3fiant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Emerson Valley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      speed maxed out for 20s then 30s nothing, then rinse and repeat

      I moved house recently and on Monday my Max package was reconnected. My old house gave me 2.5MB stable as I was a fair distance from the exchange (4km+). New house is 600m from exchange (however Milton Keynes has cable issues) I get 8MB in bursts of about 20seconds, then 30 seconds of nothing. Internet light on router stays as is. I have a Tier3 call logged waiting on call back, any ideas on what could be causing this?

      When I get home I will post my stats but if anyone could help with info, I would like to have a better idea before I talk to T3. Its the same on 3 seperate PC's, Im monitoring by DL from usenet and watching the thruput on newsleecher

      TIA D3fiant
      SKY BB MAX
      -=Main PC=- C2D 6600 - AB9 Pro - 896MB GTX260 - 4GB RAM DDR667 - 1.8TB Storage


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      d3fiant's Avatar
      d3fiant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Emerson Valley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: speed maxed out for 20s then 30s nothing, then rinse and repeat

      stats

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 13.7 14.0
      Attn(dB): 22.0 14.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.3
      Max(Kbps): 10432 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 7468 7466
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1015728 63461
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2436145 0
      Data Cells: 11065 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 2 min 34 sec
      SF = 7468
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 2 min 34 sec
      SF = 7468
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 34 sec
      SF = 7468
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      SKY BB MAX
      -=Main PC=- C2D 6600 - AB9 Pro - 896MB GTX260 - 4GB RAM DDR667 - 1.8TB Storage

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: speed maxed out for 20s then 30s nothing, then rinse and repeat

      have u turned off UPnP? is it a wireless connection?

      Speed Test

      ^ what transfer rate do you get there, using the medium/large file?

    5. #4
      d3fiant's Avatar
      d3fiant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Emerson Valley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: speed maxed out for 20s then 30s nothing, then rinse and repeat

      UPnP off, wired connection, ranges between 500-600k for both files EXCEPT when I loose internet for 30sec, it just waits till it comes back. Internet light on router stays on

      No idea, waiting for tier 3 call back
      SKY BB MAX
      -=Main PC=- C2D 6600 - AB9 Pro - 896MB GTX260 - 4GB RAM DDR667 - 1.8TB Storage

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: speed maxed out for 20s then 30s nothing, then rinse and repeat

      hmmmm....sounds like there's something making it drop sync. It's finding what that's the issue. Does the router actually lose IP when it goes down? Worth checking as we can then work from there - if IP stays but internet drops off then we got an issue!!!

    7. #6
      d3fiant's Avatar
      d3fiant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Emerson Valley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: speed maxed out for 20s then 30s nothing, then rinse and repeat

      the way it works is that it cycles for say 5 mins, 30 seconds of internet, then 30seconds of nothing, then back to internet etc, but then I will have to do a release and renew, not always but if I have a dl going then normally. The internet light stays on but stops the intermittent flashin when the connection is not working. tbh if they drop my line from 8mb to 4mb for example to get stable I dont care, as long as its stable, T3 callback due in the next day or so, fingers crossed
      SKY BB MAX
      -=Main PC=- C2D 6600 - AB9 Pro - 896MB GTX260 - 4GB RAM DDR667 - 1.8TB Storage

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION