Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Should I be getting better?

    This is a discussion on Should I be getting better? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys! I'm new to the site having been directed here by another forum I posted on regarding my connection ...

    1. #1
      gordy01's Avatar
      gordy01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Should I be getting better?

      Hi guys!

      I'm new to the site having been directed here by another forum I posted on regarding my connection speeds for Sky broadband max.

      At the moment most speed tests I carry out give speeds of 6500 kpbs / 600 kbps which is quite a bit less than I was expecting From the statistcs I've got I think my line is ok and it's the G.DMT profile that's holding me back, but I'd be grateful if you guys could have a look and let me know what you think....

      STATS THROUGH EXTENSION (6:00pm):

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.4 14.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 21.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.2
      Max(Kbps): 10976 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 3692191 3692189
      SFErr: 1 0
      RS: 502138032 31383606
      RSCorr: 201 346
      RSUnCorr: 52 0

      HEC: 1 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1198499737 0
      Data Cells: 53355 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 17 hours 26 min 35 sec
      SF = 3692191
      CRC = 1

      STATS THROUGH TEST SOCKET (6:10pm):

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.5 13.0
      Attn(dB): 32.0 21.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 6.5
      Max(Kbps): 10688 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 16172 16170
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 2199488 137445
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 5262794 0
      Data Cells: 368 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 40 0
      Total time = 5 min 42 sec
      SF = 16172
      CRC = 0

      I'd be grateful to hear your thoughts?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better?

      There's no material difference between your normal connection and your test socket stats. Your normal stats (which are abbreviated) show practically zero errors. Allowing for your high noise margin (due to capping) suppressing your error levels, I'd be quite confident that your line would support an uncapped ADSL2+ connection giving you ~16000kbps.

      Call Sky and tell them your line was capped for an earlier problem, even though it wasn't and ask to be put through to T3. They will sort your connection out.

    4. #3
      gordy01's Avatar
      gordy01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: Should I be getting better?

      Thanks for your help Saturday

      Having read a bit more on the forums I was a bit worried about calling sky as people mentioned that changing to ADSL2+ can cause problems if your line isn't too great - could you have a look at these new stats (after a few hours browsing / downloading...the previous weren't really).....

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 22.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.0
      Max(Kbps): 10624 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5077616 5077614
      SFErr: 221 10
      RS: 690555794 43159719
      RSCorr: 8789 658
      RSUnCorr: 14417 0

      HEC: 141 0
      OCD: 8 6
      LCD: 0 2
      Total Cells: 1648181468 0
      Data Cells: 2453720 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 55 0
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 46 0
      Total time = 23 hours 59 min 46 sec
      SF = 5077616
      CRC = 221
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 55
      Latest 1 day time = 23 hours 59 min 46 sec
      SF = 5077616
      CRC = 221
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 55
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 46 sec
      SF = 52166
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      I'd be happy to hear your opinions - thanks again

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better?

      Your error levels are moderate. However, with a noise margin of 14.3db, they will be suppressed.

      Uncapped and on ADSL2+ they will certainly rise, possibly to a problematic level. There's only one way to tell - try it

      The thing is, when uncapped and on ADSL2+ you become in complete control of your connection. Using a utility such as Mognuts you can change your ADSL mode and your noise margin to get the optimum result. On G.DMT and capped you have no control.

      Personally I'd do what I could to get uncapped then manage my connection myself to suit. I'd then spend a bit of time finding out what was giving me line problems and fix it (actually doing it in reverse order would be more sensible - see the cabling and faceplate help forum for info on diagnosing and fixing line problems).

    6. #5
      gordy01's Avatar
      gordy01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better?

      Ok, I'll try giving them a bell and see what happens!

      Could the errors be down to internal wiring - i get the same basic stats when connecting through my router or test socket, as seen from the first sets of figures?

      Thanks again for your help Saturday

    7. #6
      gordy01's Avatar
      gordy01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better?

      Just off the phone to sky there

      Spoke to an Irish guy in Tier 1 who was willing to put me through to Tier 3 and raised a ticket. However, I fear I gave him too much information as when he spoke to Tier 3 prior to putting me through he told them what I was wanting to do and came back to say that Tier 3 said I was capped at the maximum my line could handle without becoming instable!?!

      I explained again that I wanted the mode at the exchange changed from G.DMT to ADSL2+ as this would allow a better syncronisation speed and that the connection could then be managed through my router to make it stable. I explained the problem at the moment was that the mode that was set at the exchange did not allow the router to synch at any higher speed than it was at the moment.

      Again he put a note on my ticket (still open) saying this, but only for Tier 3 to put a note on saying they would not lift the cap due to the reasons previously given and that they would not discuss this with me. When I asked if I could call again with my ticket ID and attempt to get put through I was told my ticket was now closed.

      I don't know what I'm supposed to do....doesn't seem like sky want to know

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better?

      it depends which tier 3 dept said it, personally if a user comes through to me i'll do it but stress that doing so will reduce stability - plus tier 1 (most of the time) have no idea what ur on about if u start quoting modes etc.....people seem to forget this is meant to be a simple service, and having the hardcore massive switching to save money does put a lot of stress on everyone!!

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better?

      As I said in my last post, the best thing would be to fix whatever is causing the line errors then call Sky.

    10. #9
      gordy01's Avatar
      gordy01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      it depends which tier 3 dept said it, personally if a user comes through to me i'll do it but stress that doing so will reduce stability - plus tier 1 (most of the time) have no idea what ur on about if u start quoting modes etc.....people seem to forget this is meant to be a simple service, and having the hardcore massive switching to save money does put a lot of stress on everyone!!
      So is your recomendation to keep trying til I get someone in Tier 1 willing to put me through and someone in Tier 3 willing to speak to me?

      The guy in Tier 1 admitted that he didn't know what I was on about and I can't fault him....I just find it disappointing Tier 3 not letting me explain it to them

      Are records kept on my account about how many times I've called and what I've said? Will emailing sky help much?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      As I said in my last post, the best thing would be to fix whatever is causing the line errors then call Sky.
      I'll try connecting to my test socket for an hour or 2 tomorrow night and seeing what difference that makes to my line (error) stats.
      Last edited by gordy01; 12-07-07 at 12:36 AM.

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION