Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 31

    DC++ limited search results

    This is a discussion on DC++ limited search results within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi folks. Firstly, thanks for a great forum. With the help of the FAQs and tutorials, I've managed to get ...

    1. #1
      c0l's Avatar
      c0l
      c0l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01373
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Frome, Somerset
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DC++ limited search results

      Hi folks. Firstly, thanks for a great forum. With the help of the FAQs and tutorials, I've managed to get Sky BB Mid up and running - averaging about 6.8MB download speed. I've also managed to successfully forward some ports on the router and get Azureus and DC++ running OK as well.
      Only problem left to solve is that the search results when using DC++ on Sky are very low when compared with Telewest cable (my previous supplier). A search term that would previously have consistently returned 3 or 4 pages of results now only returns 7 or 8 entries. I can still download from these results perfectly, but there's just not many of them. By the way, I'm using DC++ 0.401.15 and don't really want to change unless its unavoidable.Any ideas please?

      thanks again,

      col


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      astra's Avatar
      astra is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYELL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      200
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      check your dc++ option settings make sure your in active mode and not passive mode
      passive to passive search will always return a limited amount.
      also check your ports it dont sound like your portforward-ing is set up
      correctly....

    4. #3
      c0l's Avatar
      c0l
      c0l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01373
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Frome, Somerset
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      thanks astra. I'm definitely in active mode and I can download the few results that search yields, so the ports are open. Its just that there's not much to choose from,

      cheers

      col

    5. #4
      Goodgoob's Avatar
      Goodgoob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      I'm having this exact same problem with DC++.

      The ports are definitely forwarded properly, as again, the few results I do get work fine. I'm definitely in active mode also, and I've tried the various active modes available, but to no avail.

      The results, as they come up, show one at a time, even when I use really common searches that I know really have thousands of results.

      I have the feeling Sky may be throttling the search results, or something.. Which isn't really a good sign as I wouldn't have changed from BT (which worked fine with DC++) if I knew they did that.

      Does anyone have any more info on this?

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      Sky DOES NOT THROTTLE ANYTHING (sorry for the shouting)...

      not to sound silly, but seeing as Sky run dynamic IP they'll change everytime u reboot the router. I run DC++ through active with manual port forwarding, but i obviously have to change this evrytime i drop connection. I also run my LAN as a DMZ so i have nothing being blocked by the router firewall

    7. #6
      Goodgoob's Avatar
      Goodgoob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      Indeed, that's the settings I used. The IP I was using was definitely correct, because there was search results, they just came up one at a time. The problem also didn't exist before I moved to Sky, so it's something to do with either a Sky setting, or something like that..

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      could be the router then, as (again) Sky don't block anything....

    9. #8
      Goodgoob's Avatar
      Goodgoob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      Hmm, is there any particular router setting that would cause this?

      The router and my connection is working fine for everything else, for example torrents. It's an odd problem and from searching Google, only myself and the starter of this thread have had the problem.. So at least it's not just me.

      However, it seems to be the case that something is causing the search results to be limited, throttled, or truncated - If it's not Sky, as you have said is the case, then I'm not really sure what it could be.

      It has something to do with Sky, though, because it worked fine on BT four days ago. Could be the router, yes, but I don't think its faulty.. Hopefully it's some sort of setting.

    10. #9
      c0l's Avatar
      c0l
      c0l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01373
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Frome, Somerset
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      Is it possible that Sky have managed to restrict P2P hub search results by nobbling the firmware in some way?

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      only way to try is to flash it i guess....the servers don't so it's a possibility

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION