Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31

    DC++ limited search results

    This is a discussion on DC++ limited search results within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; here's a shot of how i'm set up, for reference......

    1. #21
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      here's a shot of how i'm set up, for reference...
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails DC++ limited search results-dc.jpg  
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      goldfish's Avatar
      goldfish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kensal green
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      I still can't get it to work i'm afraid.
      I have mine set up like the screenshot above.
      On active mode I get some returns on searches implying it is at least partially working which is what i find strange. If i switch back to using upnp and search the same thing again i get 1000's more returns.
      Might just have to wait for a new DC++ release then i guess. Also just can't seem to get any downloads of speed over 50. If i post the detailed stats of my connection is anyone here prepared to take a look at them and give me a few pointers as to what it might be?
      Thanks.

    4. #23
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      i will also say that i dont use a netgear router (im not even on sky) so perhaps having UPnP on and using it in DC is the best way for Sky users...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #24
      c0l's Avatar
      c0l
      c0l is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01373
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Frome, Somerset
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      ref the last post - is there anyone using the Sky standard issue router thats successfully using DC++?

      cheers,

      col

    6. #25
      Goodgoob's Avatar
      Goodgoob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      Ok, I have something of a theory about what's causing the problem: As one user earlier suggested, I believe it's built in to the Sky router, I'd imagine the firmware, so as to limit use of the program.

      Whilst on to Sky's customer service about a different problem, the staff informed me that it is technically possible for Sky to limit use of certain services and programs via something built in to the router. The staff member didn't disagree when I brought up that DC++ might have been limited this way, suggesting that it could the case (the representative I spoke to was one of higher-up technicians, due to the problem I was experiencing).

      I believe that the firmware version could have something to do with it - As not all Sky users are having this issue, I'd say earlier versions don't have it.

      So, it would be a help if all Sky users who can, and cannot successfully use DC++ could post the firmware version they're using. That way, perhaps we can figure out which firmware versions work with DC++.

      My firmware version is V1.02.28, and I cannot use DC++ properly.

      (You can find the firmware version at the top of the first page you see when you access your router.)

    7. #26
      T R's Avatar
      T R
      T R is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      My firmware version is V1.02.28: I cannot use DC++ properly.

    8. #27
      Goodgoob's Avatar
      Goodgoob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      Perhaps it's something they've just put in the firmware, then.

      Is it possible to downgrade firmware, and are there any side effects?

    9. #28
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      If yoiu believe it is down to the firmware you can flash the router with netgears firmware which I believe is much better than skys. Go to the site below and download the latest firmware from netgear:

      DG834GT Super Wireless ADSL Router Firmware Version 1.02.09

      Then download the utility on this page and follow the instructions:

      Untitled Document

    10. #29
      Goodgoob's Avatar
      Goodgoob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      Not wanting to bump an old thread, but I still have this problem - It's not been fixed. Have there been any solutions or anything to it, or at least explanations?

      I didn't try flashing the router because I'm concerned about the side effects, and what they may be - Don't want to do it and see it result in my Internet slowing down, or anything.

    11. #30
      Goodgoob's Avatar
      Goodgoob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DC++ limited search results

      I wasn't sure whether to create a new thread, but I've found the reason - I think - for this.

      Basically, the DG834GT router (I think) treats the search results as a DoS attack, as can be seen in the logs when a search is performed in DC++. It then prevents the results from coming through, and thus only the results that get through are shown, limiting the results.

      To disable this protection, go to "WAN Setup" then tick the top checkbox - after doing this, results are as normal.
      Last edited by Goodgoob; 06-07-08 at 08:24 PM.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION