Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    Ordered today - will update you all on progress.

    This is a discussion on Ordered today - will update you all on progress. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Kool...

    1. #21
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Kool
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Andrew's Avatar
      Andrew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Feltham LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Feltham
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      All done.

      Two new email addresses set up without a problem.

      I'll try setting them up in Outlook Express later, but I don't expect any problems, thanks to Ratti3's guide.

      All that's left for me to do is some surfing!!

      I'll report back with any problems.

      Cheers,

      Andrew.

    4. #23
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm getting all jealous now as i want my Sky BB

    5. #24
      Andrew's Avatar
      Andrew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Feltham LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Feltham
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well, so far, so good.

      The connection seems to be pretty stable. It did drop right down last night, but I was hammering it pretty hard at the time.

      I found that bouncing the router got me back up to speed. It was on overnight and this morning was only getting 1.0 Mb download. I've left it alone now though, so I'll see what it's doing later.

      All in all, very happy with the service so far.

      Cheers,

      Andrew.

    6. #25
      Andrew's Avatar
      Andrew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Feltham LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Feltham
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I thought I'd stick an update onto this thread now that I'm a month down the line.

      For the first few weeks I was getting constant disconnections, especially in the evenings. I never got around to calling Sky, because a bit of patience and a reboot always sorted it out. Most soft reboots, but the odd hard one was required.

      Anyway, about two or three weeks ago, I suddenly realised that I hadn't rebooted for a while and discovered that I had been constantly connected for five days!

      I haven't had to reboot for well over a week now and the connection seems to be very stable in the evenings when i was getting most of the problems before.

      Now I just have to sit back and see if Sky shout at me for using too much bandwidth. I'm guessing that I used about 30Gb down and 60Gb up in my first month or so (trying hard to get my ratio back up on the P2P network i use).

      I feel that I'm being considerate by not using the P2P much in the evenings, just mainly leaving it running overnight and during weekdays.

      Does anyone have a reliable way of monitoring my usage? I have DU Meter which was fine with my old USB modem, but it's nigh on impossible to keep track as I have my laptop and desktop both going through the router. The DU Meter records all of the throughput, including my laptop backups which are saved to an external HD connected to the desktop. See my problem?

      Anyway, I suppose it's only a problem when Sky tell me it is. (Any Sky workers reading this care to comment? I'd be intereted to hear what the insiders view of excessive use is.)

      Cheers,

      Andrew.

      One very happy Sky customer.

    7. #26
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      if your on the max package then the rumoured acceptable use limit is 350Gb which is 2 and a half times my old isp's limit
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    8. #27
      madman's Avatar
      madman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wandsworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      68
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      good to see a happy user. i hope my order goes as smoothly as well.

    9. #28
      Andrew's Avatar
      Andrew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Feltham LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Feltham
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I am on the Max package.

      350Gb.

      Blimey, that's a lot! I can't see me hitting that.

      Is bandwidth really so cheap now that they can allow 350Gb for a tenner?

      I thought BT set the prices?

      Andrew.

    10. #29
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      LLU is sky's own Equipment, Sky just colocate it at the exchange so they don't use any BT equipment at all, well except the connect package
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    11. #30
      jeffersuk's Avatar
      jeffersuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Watford
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Andrew thanks for your updates. I'm waiting for a tag on my line to be removed which should be on Friday, I can only hope the whole process is as smooth as yours has been. Look forward to it!

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION