Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Speed problems with new activation!

    This is a discussion on Speed problems with new activation! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I have just got activated (bour hour ago) my line online connects at 2.5! any ideas whats capping my ...

    1. #1
      aibo82's Avatar
      aibo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mickelover
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed problems with new activation!

      Hi

      I have just got activated (bour hour ago) my line online connects at 2.5! any ideas whats capping my speed? I have got an ADSL nation phone socket and have ran cat5e cable from the BT master socket over abput 7m legth and using a belkin high speed cable! Line stats are as follows:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2528 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 63.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.6 8.0
      Max(Kbps): 2848 864
      Rate (Kbps): 2528 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 80(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 80 14
      M: 2 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1975 17.0666
      L: 648 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 41342 41340
      SFErr: 3 0
      RS: 1405650 175695
      RSCorr: 130 0
      RSUnCorr: 57 0

      HEC: 3 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 4194694 0
      Data Cells: 261295 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 3 0
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 12 min 10 sec
      SF = 41342
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 1 day time = 12 min 10 sec
      SF = 41342
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 10 sec
      SF = 41342
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


      I dont know if its too soon to tell or I should wait for things to bed in! but its driving me mad at this speed after sitching from virgins 4mb service!

      Thanks in advance!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speed problems with new activation!

      call tech, open 24/7 (just left my colleagues sat there laughing so i know they're not doing anything!!!

      as for speed, from that attenuaton you're line wont give more than about 2MB so might need capping.....depends on error build up over a longer period of time

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Speed problems with new activation!

      Your attenuation at 63.5db limits you to ~2500kbps and that's what you're getting. Sorry

    5. #4
      mo_fo1988's Avatar
      mo_fo1988 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems with new activation!

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      call tech, open 24/7 (just left my colleagues sat there laughing so i know they're not doing anything!!!

      as for speed, from that attenuaton you're line wont give more than about 2MB so might need capping.....depends on error build up over a longer period of time


      Hi Ed you do realise this a sackable offence giving out this kind off information to the pubic please stop this type off posts imeddiately

    6. #5
      aibo82's Avatar
      aibo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mickelover
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems with new activation!

      Right so theres nothign i can get done? like gettin bt to increase the gain? I have noticed our voice calls seem low. I have just redone the wireing in the back filter socket and now im getting



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2688 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 14.0 db

      What about flashing fireware of the sky box any help? I want to milk every bps!

      I was on bt openwords at 512kps 4yrs ago surely line quality has increased more than this since then!

    7. #6
      aibo82's Avatar
      aibo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Mickelover
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems with new activation!

      I been messing about with cables and now my router says
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2592 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 14.0 db

      all ive done is moved it and replaced the network cable witht the proper sky one! so someone tell me now why i aint gettin proper line speed if my Line Attenuation is 15.5db!

    8. #7
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Speed problems with new activation!

      Your line attenuation is not 15.5db, this is a well known bug with the router, reboot and measure again.

      You still have the same cable running between you and the exchange, so its attenuation won't change. The fact that you can now get 2.5mbps over a 60db line that was designed to carry audio with a 3khz bandwidth is pretty good going for the technology.
      Last edited by penrhyn; 07-07-07 at 09:42 AM.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION