Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    USB Wireless Adaptor

    This is a discussion on USB Wireless Adaptor within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks. Got home yesterday, still not connected so phoned sky who told me that BT still hadn't switched the line ...

    1. #11
      Dave58's Avatar
      Dave58 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks. Got home yesterday, still not connected so phoned sky who told me that BT still hadn't switched the line over due to a backlog, so another 24 hours wait. The only good news is that the router is communicating with my pc. Sometimes get the feeling that i wish id never bothered.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I know that feeling BT messed up my line last Thursday when they were changing me over lost everything ADSL and phone for 4 days finally BT sorted out the mess yesterday.

      All is well now and happily surfing on SkyBB
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #13
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Red face

      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      Welcome to the site Dave

      As has already been said Ethernet will and does work either that or I am now talking to myself in a text file and actually on-line

      Good luck and I hope everything goes ok for you.
      I have 2 pc's, one of which i will connect via Ethernet but the other one is 4 years old so could i have wired on the main one & wireless via a USB wireless adaptor on the older one ?

      Sorry if it seems a dumb question but i have only ever been with Tiscali before so obviously know nothing about routers

    5. #14
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Unregistered

      Please register with us as it not very easy following post by Unregistered users.

      You will have to configure the USB wireless adaptor on the older PC to get internet access once you are all connected but its not hard as the router does come with a a pre configured key to protect the wireless connection but if I was you I would log into the router and change both that and the admin password before you do anything.

      If you require any more help just post you questions in the Sky Router (Netgear DG834GT) section there are loads of members who are only to willing to help.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #15
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sorry Wheelie, it was me....Not sure how i logged myself out ?
      Last edited by Wheelie; 12-09-06 at 03:51 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User Name this helps us to keep the forum tidy and posts more compact. Thanks

    7. #16
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No Problems mate it happens
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #17
      Rich's Avatar
      Rich Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Quote Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
      I was pretty miffed at this, they lock out the movies unless you have media centre just to sell more copies ><
      !
      If you plan to upgrade to vista (when available), this will do it as well

    9. #18
      coz93's Avatar
      coz93 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have read all the threads to do with missing routers which fortunately for me I have received. Funnily I received a letter apologising for delay in delivery with an offer of 5. I was not aware that it was late !!!
      However I ordered an adapter at the same time (3 Sept) but have not yet received it. I go live tomorrow and have posted the problem with the escalation team who promised to ring me back but have not done so. I remember seeing a phone number in the forum for this team but cannot find it.

      Can anyone help ? Are there any suggestions for getting round this problem ?

      My pc is also 4 years old and does not have an ethernet port

    10. #19
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      re: However I ordered an adapter at the same time ..

      if you mean the wireless usb one - you could always connect using the cable until it arrives

    11. #20
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site coz93

      You will find what you need here http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/a/ as you have no Ethernet port you have 2 choices wait for the adaptor or go and either a wireless card or a PCI LAN from a local computer shops.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION