Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    repeatedly loosing internet signal

    This is a discussion on repeatedly loosing internet signal within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have just got sky mid package and im connecting to router through a belkin wireless adapter 802.11g. im connected ...

    1. #1
      nottsv6's Avatar
      nottsv6 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      repeatedly loosing internet signal

      i have just got sky mid package and im connecting to router through a belkin wireless adapter 802.11g. im connected to router fine and connected to internet fine most of the time but sometimes it connects to internet for 5 seconds then disconnects and does that repeatedly for ages.... then it could be fine for a while... its always connected to router on full strength....

      please help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Mr KP's Avatar
      Mr KP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wembley
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Sudbury, NW London
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: repeatedly loosing internet signal

      We need more information about your connection. Using the following link to extract your router statistics then post back here:

      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: repeatedly loosing internet signal

      Proceedure for running above program :

      Go to the utility web site: Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 Click the “Get” detailed modem stats button and click “OK”.
      Enter the router login user name and password.
      At the next screen, click the back button on your browser.
      Click the “Download” netgear.cfg button.
      What you do next depends on your operating system. On Windows XP, click the “Save” button to save the file to your hard disk. (If you click “Open”, you may find that the file association is one that doesn’t handle carriage returns the same way as the router, hence the reason for saying “Save”.)
      Open the file in WordPad (not notepad).

    5. #4
      nottsv6's Avatar
      nottsv6 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: repeatedly loosing internet signal

      my laptop has build in wireless and that runs fine...

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5280 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.7 14.0
      Attn(dB): 53.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.7 1.1
      Max(Kbps): 5856 1120
      Rate (Kbps): 5280 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 166(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 166 14
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0958 17.0666
      L: 1336 120
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 2315117 2315115
      SFErr: 47 162
      RS: 157427986 9839238
      RSCorr: 789924 666
      RSUnCorr: 740 0

      HEC: 42 114
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 490113111 0
      Data Cells: 214233 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 155 0
      SES: 142 0
      UAS: 23 0
      Total time = 10 hours 56 min 31 sec
      SF = 2315117
      CRC = 47
      LOS = 150
      LOF = 0
      ES = 155
      Latest 1 day time = 10 hours 56 min 31 sec
      SF = 2315117
      CRC = 47
      LOS = 150
      LOF = 0
      ES = 155
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 31 sec
      SF = 40639
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 7
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8

    6. #5
      nottsv6's Avatar
      nottsv6 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: repeatedly loosing internet signal

      hope this means something to any1

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: repeatedly loosing internet signal

      They dont look bad I have seen alot worse although your attenuation is high meaning you are some distance from the exchange?
      Suggestions :
      1 : Try going hard wired via ethernet rather than wireless, to rule out wireless issues.
      2: Make sure uPNP is turned off in router menu.
      3: Try plugging the router into the test socket socket behind the faceplate of your BT master socket, to rule out internal wiring issues.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION