Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Unable to Connect!!! Arrrgh!!

    This is a discussion on Unable to Connect!!! Arrrgh!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Migrated from Aol to Sky Mid and have set up router. When ever I try to connect though ...

    1. #1
      bazm's Avatar
      bazm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unable to Connect!!! Arrrgh!!

      Hi all,

      Migrated from Aol to Sky Mid and have set up router. When ever I try to connect though it says it is unable to connect. Router is working (I can connect wirelessly with it to Xbox Live) and everytime i speak to help desk they go through same routine then say get a private engineer to check my equipment! All lights are green and solid.

      What do I do!! been active for 2 weeks now and still no internet! getting withdrawel sypmptons!

      Cheers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Unable to Connect!!! Arrrgh!!

      I'm in a similar position to you although I have been suffereing from mutiple disconnections and downtime. I am waiting a call back from tier 3, I have a feeling my line is going to be capped but if this fixes it then I am not fussed.

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Unable to Connect!!! Arrrgh!!

      I'm a bit confused by your post - you can connect wirelessly to xbox live so you have an internet connection? What isn't connecting? Your PC?

      If so then this is probably a network settings problem in your PC. You need to set it to obtain an IP address automatically in network properties.

    5. #4
      bazm's Avatar
      bazm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to Connect!!! Arrrgh!!

      your right, the account is setup as i can access sky (emails) from another PC at work, my PC just will not!

      Will try setting the IP address as you advise, so thanks.

    6. #5
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to Connect!!! Arrrgh!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
      I'm in a similar position to you although I have been suffereing from mutiple disconnections and downtime. I am waiting a call back from tier 3, I have a feeling my line is going to be capped but if this fixes it then I am not fussed.
      Sky caps can be over-aggressive. Why don't you achieve much the same thing yourself by using Mognuts to set you target noise margin to something considerably higher than the 7dB default value (say 14dB). It's best to do it during the daytime when you have a better chance of getting connected for a reasonable period.
      Useful Links
      Download RouterStats (useful utility for continuously recording noise margin)

    7. #6
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Unable to Connect!!! Arrrgh!!

      I have actually done that (yesterday infact) and it was quite bad yesterday with disconnections almost every couple of minutes. Since 7pm today I have been cut off just the once so hopefully it is working and achieving it desired affect.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION