Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move

    This is a discussion on Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just to let you all know I'm new here so...errmm..HI! I'm on Sky Broadband Max. Recently I've moved house, before ...

    1. #1
      Cube623's Avatar
      Cube623 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pelsall (CMPEL)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Pelsall
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move

      Just to let you all know I'm new here so...errmm..HI!

      I'm on Sky Broadband Max. Recently I've moved house, before I moved I was getting 10MB and getting 1MB\s download speeds with the connection only dropping once or twice every month. To sum it up...it was great!

      Now I've moved home (moved 2.5 miles away from where I used to live) and the Broadband connection I'm now getting is...well not so great

      Before we transfered the connection to our new home we were told on the phone by Sky that we should be getting upto 12MB (i think it was 12 or 14 can't remember now) which was more than the 10MB that we were getting at our old home. However the most we get is about 5.5MB which is disappointing but I suppose I could live with it if I had to.

      The most annoying problem we're getting though is that our connection always gets dropped about 4 times a day meaning I'm always rebooting the router. (especially at around 10pm ) Now I play a lot of online games (Test Drive Unlimited, CS:S, Half Life 2, GTR2, Unreal Tournament 2004 etc) and due to the intermittent connection it has become a near impossiblilty to play online.

      I then thought "How far do we live from the exchange?" because if we lived further away from it then it would make sense (however I thought we couldn't live far as we were quoted a 12MB connection). At our old house (according to samknows.com) we were connected to the Leamore exchange which was 1.8 miles from where we lived. At our new house we are connected to the Pelsall exchange which is 1.1 miles from where we live. So we live closer to the exchange then before?

      I'm not an expert on this subject but it's confused me why our connection is so poor. Have to admit it's not the reduced speed thats bugging me (although it would be nice to get the 12MB I was quoted) its the constant dropping of our connection. Anyone know why?

      I'm finding this a real shame as Sky used to be soo good online but now it's all going down the pan.

      Cheers
      Cube623.

      P.S No idea if this will help but here are my detailed modem statistics and my speed results from speedtest.net



      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5738 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.1 12.0
      Attn(dB): 44.0 26.8
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 5836 864
      Rate (Kbps): 5738 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 14(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 16 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 58 68
      B: 13 23
      M: 16 8
      T: 13 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 1.2422 7.7037
      L: 1507 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 204432 204430
      SFErr: 313 1
      RS: 10630500 1737655
      RSCorr: 22769 0
      RSUnCorr: 5146 0

      HEC: 277 0
      OCD: 1 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 44682110 5922017
      Data Cells: 1957540 784102
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 73 1
      SES: 35 0
      UAS: 14 16
      Total time = 55 min 21 sec
      SF = 204432
      CRC = 313
      LOS = 71
      LOF = 0
      ES = 73
      Latest 1 day time = 55 min 21 sec
      SF = 204432
      CRC = 313
      LOS = 71
      LOF = 0
      ES = 73
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 21 sec
      SF = 38447
      CRC = 27
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55783
      CRC = 38
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55721
      CRC = 85
      LOS = 18
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54481
      CRC = 163
      LOS = 38
      LOF = 0
      ES = 48

      edit 2: I'm currently connected wirelessly but it makes no difference if I'm wired or wireless
      Last edited by Cube623; 04-07-07 at 04:24 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move

      Have you tried plugging your router into the test socket behind the face-plate of your master socket? If not, try it - use the internet for an hour or so, and then post your full stats again.
      Useful Links
      Download RouterStats (useful utility for continuously recording noise margin)

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move

      Your router hadn't been running very long when you took those stats, but already you are showing some CRC errors, My guess is at certain times of day these are increasing and causing you problems, together with a dropping noise margin. As suggested above you need to remove the face plate of your master socket and plug the router in the test socket behind there to eliminate internal wiring as a problem.

    5. #4
      Cube623's Avatar
      Cube623 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pelsall (CMPEL)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Pelsall
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move

      nope haven't tried that. Do I just remove the outer casing and there is another socket to plug the router into?

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move

      Yep providing it is an NTE5, they have been fitted for some time now. You can tell because when you remove the 2 screws on the front only the bottom half of the front comes off revealing a test socket. There is a further 2 screws inside to remove the complete front.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move

      if thats your attenuation level now then you'd benefit being on g.dmt and capped to 8MB tbh....and you shouldnt be on Fast path either. I know people are saying why not but its not in ANY of the default profiles for Sky BB and if its turned on its done so by mistake (just to let you know)

      having said that, try the test socket as this may reduce this (showing its a wiring fault) and then you're away!!!

    8. #7
      Cube623's Avatar
      Cube623 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pelsall (CMPEL)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Pelsall
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move

      WOW. I've just tried it and my speed has gone from 5.5MB to 8.5MB

      I'll test for an hour and post back the results

      edit: And also the internet feels quicker as well
      Last edited by Cube623; 04-07-07 at 08:24 PM.

    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move

      If that is better make sure that only pins 2 and 5 are connected on any wiring going from that master socket to any extension sockets and also only 2 and 5 connected in the extension box at the other end. + avoid plug in extension leads at all cost.

    10. #9
      Cube623's Avatar
      Cube623 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pelsall (CMPEL)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Pelsall
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      If that is better make sure that only pins 2 and 5 are connected on any wiring going from that master socket to any extension sockets and also only 2 and 5 connected in the extension box at the other end. + avoid plug in extension leads at all cost.
      Will check

      Anyway after an hours use here are my stats. I also downloaded a file and i got pretty much the same speeds that i got at my old home . Just goto hope my connection is more stable

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8485 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.5 12.0
      Attn(dB): 42.5 26.4
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 8636 864
      Rate (Kbps): 8485 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 245(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 64 68
      B: 244 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.9201 7.7037
      L: 2217 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 240839 240837
      SFErr: 30 1
      RS: 16858754 2047114
      RSCorr: 917958 6
      RSUnCorr: 463 0

      HEC: 28 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 77615742 6978486
      Data Cells: 20647009 833664
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 11097 1
      SES: 329 0
      UAS: 76 93
      Total time = 6 hours 41 sec
      SF = 1332968
      CRC = 67958
      LOS = 206
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11097
      Latest 1 day time = 6 hours 41 sec
      SF = 1332968
      CRC = 67958
      LOS = 206
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11097
      Latest 15 minutes time = 41 sec
      SF = 2546
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55941
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55880
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55879
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55880
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7

      like to thank everyone for the adive

    11. #10
      Steve case's Avatar
      Steve case is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Prescot
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Has Become Slow And Intermittent Since House Move

      Your stats for the last hour are OK. But you may find that as the night wears on, your noise margin falls, and you start to get errors again. The solution to that, if it happens, is to increase your target noise margin higher than the 7dB default value using the Mognuts utility (I suggest you try about 10 dB if you do it during the noisy period). This will decrease your connection speed a bit, but it should give you a more stable connection.

      You then have to find a permanent solution to your wiring problem. You may be able to get away with disconnecting the orange wire as suggested by Koala. If that doesn't work then one solution is to buy an XTE-2005 filtered faceplate from ADSL Nation.

      It's also worth bearing in mind what IamNotTheEnemy says. This is outside my experience, but from what I understand, G.DMT/interleaved tends to be more stable than ADSL2+/fast unless you have a brilliant line (which you don't). However Let's see how your connection behaves first.
      Useful Links
      Download RouterStats (useful utility for continuously recording noise margin)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION