Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Master Socket

This is a discussion on Master Socket within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Not too sure on this so I thought I would ask here. My master socket is in the kitchen! ...

gareth824 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BE
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Question Master Socket

Hi,

Not too sure on this so I thought I would ask here. My master socket is in the kitchen! don't know why...it was like that when we bought the house.

I can get 16meg on it but the extention in my room where the PC is can only get a max speed of 12meg.

My question is can I have a new master BT socket fitted to the PC room and will it get the same speeds as the old master socket? Also is it a costly thing to do?

Thanks

2. Advertisement
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Thanks

Re: Master Socket

no you wont, as any extention (hardwired or otherwise) will make connection deteriate

best to either run an ethernet cable to the PC or go wireless (or have BT move the master but no idea on cost)

penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Thanks

Try removing the bell wiring from your extention(s) before you go to any great expense it may improve things a bit, other wise extending the ethernet wiring is probably the best plan.

This may help:

DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help

silvertdci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chorley, Lancashire
      Broadband ISP: Max