Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 35

    New noob sky BB needs help.

    This is a discussion on New noob sky BB needs help. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Its you router password its after i.e user: admin, password: sky. I wont change anything on your router its only ...

    1. #21
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: New noob sky BB needs help.

      Its you router password its after i.e user: admin, password: sky.
      I wont change anything on your router its only a monitor.
      you can reboot your router from within the application if you wish.

      Just let the program run especially if you change any wiring.
      Your 6metre cable from master socket to router is a tad long, see if you can get any improvement using the supplied cable, if so then it would be better to use a longer Ethernet cable instead.
      I assume you have a filter fitted to the extension socket in the bedroom, what about your Sky box?

      Regarding your extension, have a look at the socket in your bedroom, you only need to have pins 2 and 5 connected. If 3, 4, 6 are connected as well, note their colours and clip them out, go back to your master socket and clip out the other ends of the wires you just noted.
      But read this first.
      DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help

      Then reconnect and see if you get any improvement.
      Last edited by penrhyn; 06-07-07 at 07:59 PM.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      mark1000's Avatar
      mark1000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New noob sky BB needs help.

      Hi guys, sorry ive not let anyone know whats going on but i have been dealing with sky on a daily basis, i now get cut off every 15 mins or so and sky are at a loss and have basically said today that they are sending me another router (no. 3 ) and if that dont work i'm on my own, i have a new log to post today, i'm now on interleave and not fast path. but all that seemed to do was lower my line speed and nothing else, so here is the log from today.

      If anyone can help, i'm desperate.

      Mark.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6816 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.2 14.0
      Attn(dB): 40.0 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 10.0
      Max(Kbps): 7392 992
      Rate (Kbps): 6816 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 214(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 214 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0744 8.6153
      L: 1720 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 38814 38812
      SFErr: 4 72
      RS: 2639400 329902
      RSCorr: 3088 35640
      RSUnCorr: 91 0

      HEC: 4 70
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 10613390 0
      Data Cells: 44263 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 23 0
      Total time = 11 min 33 sec
      SF = 38814
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 1 day time = 11 min 33 sec
      SF = 38814
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 33 sec
      SF = 38814
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    4. #23
      mark1000's Avatar
      mark1000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New noob sky BB needs help.

      Something else i need to add ( please remember i'm a noob )

      While on the phone today the tech guy got me to change the internet protocol tcp/ip so that i always connect to the main sky sever, he said i will get a better connection that way, this got me thinking, before he got me to change it i was set to always find an ip automatically, now its set to always use the same ip.

      So am i right in thinking that when its set to always get a ip automatically that i may get a different sever each time i reboot the router, if thats the case then one of the servers i get onto works for me evey time but at a slower connection speed, i can live with that.

      So how do i find out what sever i'm on and how do i make sure that i always get on that one.

      This may all be complete bull but i'm desperate guys.


      Mark.

    5. #24
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: New noob sky BB needs help.

      Have you got rid of that 6 metre extension lead, could be a very likely cause of your problems. Router stats above only 11 minutes worth so not really telling us anything. Also make sure only pins 2 and 5 are connected in your master socket and extension.
      Last edited by Koala5; 23-07-07 at 05:49 PM.

    6. #25
      mark1000's Avatar
      mark1000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New noob sky BB needs help.

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      Have you got rid of that 6 metre extension lead, could be a very likely cause of your problems. Router stats above only 11 minutes worth so not really telling us anything. Also make sure only pins 2 and 5 are connected in your master socket and extension.
      Yep, pins 2 and 5 only, i'm on a single cable, ive been connected for 3hr 15 mins, here is the latest log.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6976 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.9 13.0
      Attn(dB): 40.0 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 11.6
      Max(Kbps): 7520 928
      Rate (Kbps): 6976 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 219(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 219 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0727 8.6153
      L: 1760 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 691152 691150
      SFErr: 42 34
      RS: 46998398 5874775
      RSCorr: 79400 92
      RSUnCorr: 757 0

      HEC: 38 16
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 193320860 0
      Data Cells: 10167820 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 25 0
      SES: 5 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 3 hours 16 min 17 sec
      SF = 691152
      CRC = 42
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 25
      Latest 1 day time = 3 hours 16 min 17 sec
      SF = 691152
      CRC = 42
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 25
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 17 sec
      SF = 4528
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3

    7. #26
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: New noob sky BB needs help.

      They dont look bad errors are within tolerance, if the internet was in use at the time.

    8. #27
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New noob sky BB needs help.

      personally, id still give it a go in the master and see if its any better....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #28
      mark1000's Avatar
      mark1000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New noob sky BB needs help.

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      personally, id still give it a go in the master and see if its any better....
      Hi, i'm in the master socket. have been right from the start of my first post.

      Does anyone have an answer to my ?'s at the top of this page re: server selection, the reason i ask is, i have been connected today for 9 hours after rebooting this morning 7 times.

      Todays log.


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6976 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.1 14.0
      Attn(dB): 40.0 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 11.2
      Max(Kbps): 7584 960
      Rate (Kbps): 6976 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 219(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 219 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0727 8.6153
      L: 1760 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1922314 1922312
      SFErr: 7 28
      RS: 130717408 16339652
      RSCorr: 7102 140
      RSUnCorr: 102 0

      HEC: 5 20
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 537675059 0
      Data Cells: 12081382 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 16 0
      SES: 13 0
      UAS: 22 0
      Total time = 9 hours 5 min 11 sec
      SF = 1922314
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 16
      Latest 1 day time = 9 hours 5 min 11 sec
      SF = 1922314
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 16
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 11 sec
      SF = 18349
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    10. #29
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: New noob sky BB needs help.

      Your earlier stats showed a very high level of errors. After calling Sky the moved you from ADSL2+ to G.DMT as this mode is more tolerant of line problems.

      This is the nub of your problem, you have a poor line and why they are wasting their money and your time sending you two replacement routers is beyond me.

      As has been suggested in the thread you need to give your router the best possible connection. This means not plugged into an extension (especially the plug in type), no line splitters and good quality filtering, preferably a replacement filtered faceplate for your master socket though if you only have an old style socket then you'd have to have a new one fitted first.

      Have a look at the cabling and faceplate help forum for tons of info on line problems and how to sort them.

      For info on noise margin etc (and you certainly have a noise margin problem) see the first sticky in my signature at the bottom of this post. With regard to being disconnected at exactly 9:26 each evening, this sounds like some electrical device which is switching on at that time and sending a massive amount of noise down your line. In your home this could be a water heater coming on or such like. Outside the home then it could be street lighting for example.

      Lastly re your question about servers etc, if I've understood you correctly then it would appear Sky have given you a fixed IP address. I've never heard of them doing this before, didn't know they could/would and can't see in any case how that would help you. Maybe I've misunderstood and all they've done is tell you to set your DNS servers (which is more likely - still won't help you though). If you could be a bit clearer about what changes they got you to do then that would help. In any event, the servers you route through are determined by the Sky network and there's nothing you can change on your PC which can influence this.
      Last edited by Saturday; 24-07-07 at 09:03 PM.

    11. #30
      mark1000's Avatar
      mark1000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New noob sky BB needs help.

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Your earlier stats showed a very high level of errors. After calling Sky the moved you from ADSL2+ to G.DMT as this mode is more tolerant of line problems.

      This is the nub of your problem, you have a poor line and why they are wasting their money and your time sending you two replacement routers is beyond me.

      As has been suggested in the thread you need to give your router the best possible connection. This means not plugged into an extension (especially the plug in type), no line splitters and good quality filtering, preferably a replacement filtered faceplate for your master socket though if you only have an old style socket then you'd have to have a new one fitted first.

      Have a look at the cabling and faceplate help forum for tons of info on line problems and how to sort them.

      For info on noise margin etc (and you certainly have a noise margin problem) see the first sticky in my signature at the bottom of this post. With regard to being disconnected at exactly 9:26 each evening, this sounds like some electrical device which is switching on at that time and sending a massive amount of noise down your line. In your home this could be a water heater coming on or such like. Outside the home then it could be street lighting for example.

      Lastly re your question about servers etc, if I've understood you correctly then it would appear Sky have given you a fixed IP address. I've never heard of them doing this before, didn't know they could/would and can't see in any case how that would help you. Maybe I've misunderstood and all they've done is tell you to set your DNS servers (which is more likely - still won't help you though). If you could be a bit clearer about what changes they got you to do then that would help. In any event, the servers you route through are determined by the Sky network and there's nothing you can change on your PC which can influence this.
      Thanks for your reply, try as i might to explain myself, im finding it difficult to do so, it must be frustrating for you, it is for me, its all to techy for me to understand, ( complete noob in all things internet ).

      I'll have another go at explaining myself, i'll be back.


      Mark.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 16-10-08, 06:27 PM
    2. 19-08-07, 08:54 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION