Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Ongoing Issue, need advice

    This is a discussion on Ongoing Issue, need advice within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Was having an issue before regarding slow connection (can't find original post). I was sent a new router and did ...

    1. #1
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ongoing Issue, need advice

      Was having an issue before regarding slow connection (can't find original post). I was sent a new router and did various tests, Sky told me that BT are to blame, and to ring them, get my line fixed, then ring Sky back, but BT have done 4 tests on my line and nothing is wrong with it??

      I have tried the test socket (still slow connection), I rewired the cables in the house, tried a new router......formatted the PC.......nothing has made a change.

      This happened sudden for no reason (nothing was changed to setup). I was getting 150kb/s which was really slow, and Sky managed to up it to 1mb by capping me at 2mb, where do I go from here? I am on Max package and rarely reach 1mb.

      Stats
      =========

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 128 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1024 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 4.6 9.0
      Attn(dB): 44.0 27.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 1696 416
      Rate (Kbps): 1024 128
      G.dmt framing
      K: 33(0) 5
      R: 16 16
      S: 4 16
      D: 32 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 33 5
      M: 4 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.4705 18.6666
      L: 272 48
      D: 32 4
      Counters
      SF: 393859 393857
      SFErr: 62 0
      RS: 6695608 1673892
      RSCorr: 9826 182
      RSUnCorr: 519 0

      HEC: 49 0
      OCD: 5 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 16171493 0
      Data Cells: 314062 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 37 0
      SES: 26 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 1 hours 52 min 3 sec
      SF = 393859
      CRC = 62
      LOS = 31
      LOF = 0
      ES = 37
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 52 min 3 sec
      SF = 393859
      CRC = 62
      LOS = 31
      LOF = 0
      ES = 37
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 3 sec
      SF = 24878
      CRC = 13
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 42
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 18
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Last edited by kazz0817; 02-07-07 at 04:31 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Sky_Surfer's Avatar
      Sky_Surfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      135
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ongoing Issue, need advice

      One of the stat experts will be able to confirm or deny this but I would say you should get 5-6 mb on that line. Also you say you have changed wires but are you connected to the router via wireless or wired?


    4. #3
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ongoing Issue, need advice

      Wired

    5. #4
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ongoing Issue, need advice

      Hi, You need to do some tests and firstly unplug EVERYTHING from your master socket including telephone extensions and only have the router plugged into it via an adsl filter, then see what speeds you get, because your snr is so low at 4db there is deffo noise on your line and this is what is causing your poor sync speeds. Also it looks like sky have capped you at 1024kbps ( 1 meg ) due to the noise on your line so what you are looking for is the max rate to go up from 1600kbps to around 4000kbps and then you can phone sky to remove the cap.

      Give this a try and report back.

      Ian
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

    6. #5
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ongoing Issue, need advice

      How do I reduce noise on my line?

    7. #6
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ongoing Issue, need advice

      Spoke to Tier3 again, and they have managed to get me upto 1.5mb on my line (although I was told it could be unstable).

      I was also told by Sky that Im capable of 4mb easily, so why cant I get it? Sky dont know so who will? BT tell me the line is working fine. I was plugged directly into the test socket with filter, what could be the issue? its not the PC cos I have tried differant PCs, and cables. Im running out of ideas, Sky told me to call BT again and also check my filters again etc, until I get 2mb (which they capped me at) when I get 2mb they said ring back and they will put it to 4 and do more tests, how am I supposed to get 2mb on my own? when I have tried EVERYTHING else I can think of.....

      Think it may be time to cancel and go with Virgin ADSL.

    8. #7
      kazz0817's Avatar
      kazz0817 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ongoing Issue, need advice

      I have phoned BT again.......and they have done more tests to my line, and said it comes back clear as anything. They have told me to ring Sky back and tell them that they must contact a company called BT Wholesale on my behalf to get an engineer to look into it, is this normal? Does this mean I have to ring Sky again? Im sick to death of ringing them, god only knows how much it costs.

    9. #8
      slinky's Avatar
      slinky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      118
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ongoing Issue, need advice

      Try the test socket again but without the filter.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ongoing Issue, need advice

      Try the test socket again but without the filter.
      It is not very easy doing this with an rj11 plug to a telephone socket unless you have a converter. If you have the cable from a dialup modem, you could try that.

      Have you tried a different filter?

    11. #10
      IanMax's Avatar
      IanMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peartree
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Ongoing Issue, need advice

      All i can say Kazz is that with an attenuation of 44 you should get around 3mbs to 6mbs with a decent line, no amount of complaining to sky will change this as your router stated here >

      SNR (dB): 4.6 9.0
      Attn(dB): 44.0 27.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 1696 416
      Rate (Kbps): 1024 128

      your max attainable rate on adsl is 1.6mbs with your current line conditions. So either there is a problem with your internal wiring or extension cables comming from your master socket ( maybe behind the main faceplate ) or you have the ringer wire still connected ( normally an orange wire )which can cause problems. I suggest you firstly unscrew your main socket and make sure only 2 wires are connected to pins 2 and 5 and no more, if there is another pull it out. If not and you dont have any internal wiring issues then your only option is BT but if they say your line is fine then they wont do anything.

      ADSL is alot different to virgin media ( cable broadband ) as with cable it does not matter how far you are form the exchange where as adsl it does matter. That said i would not be happy with anything less than 5mbs with your line attenuation but i would be certain that there is an internal wiring problem.

      Make sure to read up on wiring and noise in this forum also as there are many things to try.

      Regards

      Ian
      Bt phone socket and wiring help > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Router stats and help on understanding them > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION